1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

error message media disconnected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Karlita, Feb 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Karlita

    Karlita Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Im getting error message media disconnected I got a new modem from Rogers yesterday and now I cannot connect to the internet my old modem is giving the same error heres all the info below. I cannot call Rogers to resolve the issue as the internet is paid for by my employer
    System Windows XP professional 2002 service pack 3
    I have tried Ipconfig as well with release,renew, all
    Winsock reset my access was denied
    I have a Linksys Router and a SMC networks modem Im NOT using wireless the correct lights lit up on the modem and the router any suggestions on how to fix this please!

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : L017850
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :corp.ads
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : corp.ads
    corporate
    tsl.telus.com
    tmi.telus.com
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media Disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Carte Mini de reseau local san fil N 1510 DELL
    Physical address . . . . . . . .: C4-17-FE-56-5D-9F

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : corp.ads
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel <r> 82567LM Gigabit Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-B9-B8-93-92
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.252
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : February 16, 2012 11:11:26 am
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . . : February 17, 2012 11:11:26 am

    Ethernet adaptor {E7BD50C1-50A5-4D29-99FC-3398A4C6BCE2}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media Disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Check point Virtual Network Adapter For secureclient-securemote mini port
    Physical Address . . . . . . . . . . . : 54-55-43-44-52-02

    Ethernet Adater Cisco AnyConnect VPN connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cisco AnyConnect VPN virtual Mini Port adaptor for Windows
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-05-9A-3C-7A-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address . . . . . . . . . . . . :0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adaptor Local Area Connection 3:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cisco AnyConnect VPN virtual Mini Port adaptor for Windows
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-05-9A-3C-7A-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address . . . . . . . . . . . . :0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . :
     
  2. Cobra1337

    Cobra1337

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    How are you connected? Are you connected directly to the modem/router? Or is there a modem then a router? Are you TCP/IP settings set to DHCP on your network adapter?
     
  3. Karlita

    Karlita Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I am connected to the router and the modem is connect to the router. DHCP on the network adapter
     
  4. Cobra1337

    Cobra1337

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Hmm...I don't know. Maybe it has something to do with the config of your router. Did you configure it yourself? Try unplugging the modem and then the router. See if that does anything. Also, do a "ipconfig /flushdns" in the command line.

    You can always call Rogers and just say you are your employer. Otherwise, check your router settings. When you open a browser, what IP do you put to connect to your router? Check that your network cable is plugged in. Unplug it and plug it back in on both sides.

    Ensure that your TCP/IP for IPv4 settings are set to the image I've attached: http://s9.postimage.org/cvn71zy1b/tcpsettings.jpg
     
  5. KevzJD

    KevzJD

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Media disconnected is normally to do with the actual physical wire. Try making sure the wire is tightly connected, if you're still having the same problem then try using a different wire and use a different port
     
  6. tab1953

    tab1953

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I had this same problem. Here is how I fixed it.
    Turned off power to my cable modem (turn off your internet connection)
    Turned off power to my router (lynksys)
    Turned off my PC.
    All are now off.
    wait 5 minutes.

    Turn on your cable modem. Let it boot up.
    wait 5 minutes.
    Turn on your router. Let it boot up.
    wait minutes.
    (the router and the cable modem talk to each other)
    Turn on your PC. Let it boot up.
    Wait about 10 minutes.
    (The router is looking for the IP address. If it cannot find one,
    it sends a request for one)
    After about 10 minutes, click on your Internet Explorer, and open up your browser.
    You should have internete conection.
    This worked for me. I was then able to turn on my laptop as well, and it connected with no problems.

    I had searched the internet for sollutios, and none of them worked. A guy in my office suggested this
    sollution, and it fixed the issue without havig to change any settings on any of my hardware.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    You appear to be connected to the router. What is your problem? Is it the VPN?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1041356