Error message on certain games

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sd68

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
22
Hi,hope someone can help.When i try to play some games it comes up on screeen out of range i can hear the music but nothing else.Was able to play before but can`t now.Put in new memory thinking this was the problem but is still the same.Any ideas thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
139
What kind of video card do you have and when was the driver for it updated?
Also what games or games does that happen with?
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
2,088
yeh i think that is either a problem with the gpu itself or the graphics drivers need updating...either way its the gpu thats causing the trouble....
 
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
100
update the graphics card. Bloo is correct, its the GPU causing the trouble.

I had a similar problem with my 8800gtx, when i would load windows my monitor would go into out of range mode only when I had the DVI cable attached. Analog worked fine. I ended uninstalling the drivers, physically taking the GPU out and putting it back in the slot, then reinstalling it, and it worked fine.

what card are you using?
 

sd68

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
22
Really sorry about this I am a bit computer thick what is the the GPU.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,883
What is your resolution and frequency and also what is your monitor?
 
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
100
if you are using DVI cables try to hook up an analog when you start the game and see if you have picture.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
2,088
oh..yeh sorry..i jus use gpu sometimes cos its quicker to type that graphics card:) haha..but now i had to do it the even longer way:p but yeh...ther is sumthing up with the card, it could be as simple as updating the drivers, or it could be more sinister like a dodgey connection between it and the mother board, or between it and the screen...in those cases its probably best to get a new card...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top