1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Error message "Windows has detected a hard disk problem"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by crossfireltd, Dec 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Greetings,
    I have recently been receiving this error message "Windows has detected a hard disk problem". I noticed this error appeared after a few electrical roll overs during a recent snow storm.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 10193 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 640, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 1846 GB (1707 GB Free); D: 16 GB (1 GB Free); F: 931 GB (0 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 2AF3
    Antivirus: Spybot - Search and Destroy, Enabled and Updated

    System Information:
    HP 810-135qe
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit Service Pack 1
    Processor: Intel(R) Core (TM)i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40 ghz 3.40 ghz
    Installed Memory (RAM) 10.0 GB
    System Type 64-bit Operating system

    ChkDsk and sfc/scannow results:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\system32>sfc /scannow

    Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.

    Beginning verification phase of system scan.
    Verification 100% complete.
    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of th
    em.
    Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example
    C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log

    C:\windows\system32>
    _____________________________


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\system32>Chk Dsk
    'Chk' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\windows\system32>ChkDsk
    The type of the file system is NTFS.
    Volume label is OS.

    WARNING! F parameter not specified.
    Running CHKDSK in read-only mode.

    CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)...
    460288 file records processed.
    File verification completed.
    2469 large file records processed.
    0 bad file records processed.
    2 EA records processed.
    47 reparse records processed.
    CHKDSK is verifying indexes (stage 2 of 3)...
    579240 index entries processed.
    Index verification completed.
    0 unindexed files scanned.
    0 unindexed files recovered.
    CHKDSK is verifying security descriptors (stage 3 of 3)...
    460288 file SDs/SIDs processed.
    Security descriptor verification completed.
    59477 data files processed.
    CHKDSK is verifying Usn Journal...
    35494944 USN bytes processed.
    Usn Journal verification completed.
    The Volume Bitmap is incorrect.
    Windows found problems with the file system.
    Run CHKDSK with the /F (fix) option to correct these.

    1936390143 KB total disk space.
    145484016 KB in 387012 files.
    220788 KB in 59478 indexes.
    0 KB in bad sectors.
    625043 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    1790060296 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    484097535 total allocation units on disk.
    447515074 allocation units available on disk.

    C:\windows\system32>

    Capture.JPG
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,025
    First Name:
    Allan
    Post a screenshot of Disk Management please, expand it's window so all the details are visible.

    Also click on the Show details drop-down at the bottom of the error message in your screenshot and post the whole window please.
     
  3. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48

    Here you go:

    Capture2.JPG
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,025
    First Name:
    Allan
    Thanks for that. Can you post a Disk Management screenshot please ? (click Start type DISKMGMT.MSC press Enter)
     
  5. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    View attachment 267528
    Thank you for your speedy reply.......here are the results.....

    dskmgmt.JPG
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,025
    First Name:
    Allan
    From the details in the error message screenshot the disk with a problem is a 16GB mSata SSD that doesn't have a drive letter and showing as Disk 1 in Disk Management.

    Looking online shows it's used as a cache for the HDD with the OS on it, to speed up load and save times for often used files, which are stored on the SSD automatically.

    I think you can physically remove it and the PC will still work but I'm not 100% sure about this.

    Have a read of this thread on another forum, it explains all this quite well :- http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answers/id-2489470/replace-disable-ssd-700-330qe.html
     
  7. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
  8. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    I also ran a test using HDTune and looking at the results the drive in question is damaged. Looks like I will be switching it out.

    HDTune.JPG
     
  9. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Could anyone reccomend a replacement SSD for my failing SanDisk SSD and should I install a larger one? Unfortunately, they are not available from HP, at this time. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,025
    First Name:
    Allan
    It's not an ordinary SSD it's an mSata type and if you remove it the computer may still work.
    See the motherboard picture here :- https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Deskt...esktop-PC-Adding-2nd-Hard/m-p/5010984#M431895
    The drive will be in the mSata slot near top right.

    I don't know if adding a larger mSata drive will work as it seems to be configured as a cache not a normal drive.

    See here for a picture of a Sandisk 16GB mSata SSD :- https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SanDisk-...-Drive-For-Dell-HP-SDSA3DD-016G-/172279544587
     
  11. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    I know it's there to load the files you use the most for faster boot up. I was wondering if I increased the size it could hold more files.
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,025
    First Name:
    Allan
    I don't know if it will hold more files with a larger drive.
     
  13. crossfireltd

    crossfireltd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Problem solved, installed a NEW SanDisk 16GB SSD and all is right with the world (at least my corner of it and at this time. I was able to find one on Amazon for $34.00 and it was an east install. Thank you all for your help and feedbak. Happy holidays and happy new year to you all.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1220510

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice