error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
12
Hi- I am on a toshiba satellite 1735 laptop winme
When I am on line,looking at a web page,out of the blue a error message comes up and say system is busy. I have been geting this lot.
Then I have to restart the computer again.
So what is wrong what can I do?
thank you.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, In addition to the error message we need some more info.
You have WinME
What browser is this happening with, Internet Explorer, Netscape, other, all of them....what version of browser is it happening with?
RAM memory you have installed, Megabytes of main system memory....
example: 128mbs SDRAM
Has the laptop been somewhere for any service, ever?
What have you downloaded and/or installed lately?


Do you scan for viruses with antivirus program that you keep updated? Have you installed the new version of AdAware (6.0) or do you use SpyBot Search and Destroy?
What has either of these apps found and removed for you if anything? Do my questions sound like a survey to you? LOL....it's just to save time and trouble....with the answers to these ?'s we can proceed.
I may or may not be around when you reply, but there are many very capable folks here....
The problem could be as basic as needing a good cleaning, heat buildup, low battery state....so, until we rule out a few things, there are several steps we usually take. Please bear with it and hope we can help find the cure for the problem.
 

fun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
12
Hi-The error message took place on Internet Explorer 6
I have 192 memory on my laptop.
This computer has never been work on.
I did put on the other day tweakall to free up memory.
I have norton antvirus on this computer and I keep it up to date.
I don't have spybot or adaware.
Hope some one can help.
Thank you.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
If you can't find the problem any other way, you might want to try the System Restore feature that is in Win ME.
Start > Programs > Applications > System Tools > System Restore.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, I think, since you have installed a memory tweaking program, that would be the source of your problem. If, though, you had problems before that, which prompted you to get a memory tool to help the system out, there might be another cause we can identify for you. By downloading and installing and posting your Startup List, the experts here can help you spot and correct common problems, like large programs you do not need loading up at startup, Trojan worms, spywares...all of which can cause the problems you are having. I hate to put down a program I have never used, but, in general memory tools are not needed, and many do not help you as they claim to.
Go to the link below, download StartupList, (It is a .zip file, so you need WinZip or similar program to unzip it) to a folder on your hard drive....run the program, and start a new reply to your thread here, copy and paste the entire contents of it's results here. We do this to see what the probems could be....do not worry about the length of your post, please.




http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/
 

fun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
12
StartupList report, 2/11/2003, 12:30:13 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\MY DOCUMENTS\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\NISSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\NISUM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\SYMPROXYSVC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2EVXX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TOSMEM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2CWXX.EXE
C:\TOSHIBA\IVP\ISM\PINGER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\TIOGA\CLIENT\BIN\TGCMD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\IAMAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0002.DIR\FREERAM XP PRO 1.30.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER FREE EDITION\PSFREE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINSM32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\Monwow.exe
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\ATRACK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\AOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\WAOL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinsm32.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
ATIPOLAB = ati2evxx.exe
TosMem = tosmem.exe
AtiPTA = Atiptaxx.exe
Ati2cwxx = Ati2cwxx.exe
CP51NBtn = C:\PROGRA~1\EZBUTTON\CP51NBtn.EXE
Pinger = C:\TOSHIBA\IVP\ISM\pinger.exe /run
TgAddServer = "C:\Program Files\tioga\Client\bin\tgfix.exe" /fds "http://vtsupport.answerteam.com/global"
Tgcmd = "C:\Program Files\tioga\Client\bin\tgcmd.exe" /nosystray
tgsetsite = "C:\Program Files\tioga\Client\bin\tgfix.exe" /i /f "C:\Program Files\tioga\client\bin\toshibasup.dna"
iamapp = C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\IAMAPP.EXE
NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
SpeedItUp = C:\SPEEDUP\SPEEDITUP.EXE -MINI
QuickTime Task = "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
*StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
nisserv = C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\NISSERV.EXE
CSINJECT.EXE = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
SymTray - Norton SystemWorks = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
ccEvtMgr = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Taskbar Display Controls = RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
FreeRAM XP = "C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0002.DIR\FREERAM XP PRO 1.30.EXE" -win
PopUpStopperFreeEdition = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER FREE EDITION\PSFREE.EXE"
Mozilla Quick Launch = "C:\PROGRA~1\NETSCAPE\NETSCAPE\NETSCP.EXE" -aim

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 10/2/2003, 8:49:26)

[Rename]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET1F0.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET232.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET244.TMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_3.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}
NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
ISP signup reminder 1.job
Symantec NetDetect.job
Norton SystemWorks One Button Checkup.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1062/V31Controls/x86/mil/en/actsetup.cab

[sys Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

[Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RUFSI.DLL
CODEBASE = http://security1.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37592.446400463

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[ContentAuditX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

[CWDL_DownLoadControl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CWDL_DOWNLOAD.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.callwave.com/include/cab/CWDL_DownLoad.CAB

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 8,621 bytes
Report generated in 0.105 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, Thanks for posting your startups...now the fun begins.
When you installed this, unless it came with the laptop new, did you verify that it was for WinME?

C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0002.DIR\FREERAM XP PRO 1.30.EXE


These below are a concern:

[Rename]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET1F0.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET232.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET244.TMP

They can be re-registered very easily, but want to wait on that for a bit to look into what changed what and why.

And- what is Tioga- I know it makes ADSL or DSL chips....do you connect with a cable modem, running AOL Broadband??

I see you have some Tasks set up....can you tell if they are completing by reading the logfile in Task Scheduler??
Check the times....are they running while you are online by any chance, and causing the system to run out of resources?
Besides some parts of Norton System Works, which can hog resources, I see only a few things that I know can be turned off.
Looking up some things, will post what I find.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
1
Error Message Erroe Message! Error Message! I have an error message coming up on my screen when I go to get onto the internet.It says,C:/Progra1/Newdot1.Dll not specified.What do I do to get this file back where it belongs cause its making my pc freeze up and run slow.I have HP72 and Windows98 Second Edition.Can you give me advise in getting this file back where it should go? Thank You,Deb!
 

IMM

Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
3,257
Download LSPFix from http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm
This will fit on a floppy and should remove newdotnet from the protocol catalogue when you run it (just accept the defaults I think).
Run it while off the internet and reboot afterwards.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
fun- Download SpyBot Search and Destroy from this link- put it on desktop, double click to install it....
Go online after the install....start SpyBot with the new icon on your desktop (not the download/install file, the program icon) and click the "Online" button...have it check for updates....download any except the language and Skins files.....things like includes, help files, program updates....go offline, start up SpyBot, have it check for problems.....the ones it displays that are checked, in red, are all you need to remove....click "Fix Selected Problems".
Reboot......run SpyBot AGAIN....files in use can now be removed....then you are clean.
See if that improves anything.
Post any new errors you get.
See if you can uninstall the FREERAM program....or, at least uncheck it in msconfig. (Start>Run> type msconfig in run box.....under Startup tab, uncheck FREERAM.
SpyBot might find that part of Tioga has spyware---if so, the program might not work. SpyBot makes backups, which you can replace things that you might need....some bundled programs that contain "spyware" will not function if this is removed. There are then other things you have to do....such as uninstalling the program it came in on....then, use SpyBot to clean up after you uninstall.
For the rest of your startup list- there are several things you can deselect from starting up each time Windows does.....here is a site that will help you know which ones you must or should have starting, and those that are optional or advisable to not have start when computer does.

http://www.azpchelp.com/StartupListG-K.htm
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top