error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
13
hi good people

my problem is i get message your computer has perform an illegal operation and will be closed

if persist contact your local vendor


some times i click on the x i can go on working but most off the time it freezes i have to restart can some one please help thanks .
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
1,226
You are going to have to post more details, such as what you were doing when the error message appeared, the exact wording of the error message, OS, etc..
 

wout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
13
jnibori said:
You are going to have to post more details, such as what you were doing when the error message appeared, the exact wording of the error message, OS, etc..

the system has performed an illegal operation and will be closed


if error persist contact your local vendor

using win98
most of the times when i am on the internet

rarely happens when off line
 

wout

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
13
jnibori said:
You are going to have to post more details, such as what you were doing when the error message appeared, the exact wording of the error message, OS, etc..
it just did it i get as follows

This program has performed a illegal operation and will be shot down

if thge problem persist contact your vendor


when i click on details i get:
explorer caused a stack fault in module:
Kernel32.dll at 015f0 bff.742a3

ann some numbers about register
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
1,226
Hmmm.

No idea. You can try and replace the "Kernel32.dll" file. You can get it HERE. I'm not sure where you need to drop it on Win98. I have XP and I usually drop a copy in either Systems, or System32 folder.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
1,226
Do a search of the file with your Search program and note the path. If you decide to replace the .dll file, then you can see where it belongs. NOTE: There are different .dll version though. Also, I don't know if that file is needed to boot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top