1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error Message

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by l0s71, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. l0s71

    l0s71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    I keep getting this error message whenever I try to command prompt!
    please help...
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\command.com
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft WIndows applications. Choose 'Close' terminate the application.
    [Close] [Ignore]

    HElp pLEASE!!!
    :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :mad: :eek: :mad: :eek:
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what version of windows are you running
    and please post exactly what you are typing
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you are on XP from run type cmd
     
  4. l0s71

    l0s71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    THANK YOU SOO MUCH!
    I'm such an idiot
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Your welcome - not an idiot - there only easy questions when you know the answer - good luck
     
  6. Miercaky

    Miercaky

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    I'm getting the same error message.

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft WIndows applications. Choose 'Close' terminate the application.
    [Close] [Ignore]

    I typed in cmd from run, but no go ? Do you have any other suggestions ?
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    miercaky,
    starta new post
    state your windows version and what you are doing
    start>
    run>
    cmd
    this should start the dos prompt
    if win98
    command
     
  8. l0s71

    l0s71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    I'm still getting the same error but with different programs, I deleted autoexec.nt by accident and now I need a copy of it
    can someone send it to me?
    [email protected]
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Error Message
  1. alanh01
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    200
  2. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    651
  3. flavallee
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    942
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271878

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice