1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Error moving file or folder" -- "directory is not empty"

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by hawaiianhope, Mar 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hawaiianhope

hawaiianhope Thread Starter

Wanted to resurrect an older thread, but its closed :
    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-xp/652638-error-moving-file-folder-directory.html

Please read completely before responding.
    I am a 30 year IT pro, most of it as a programmer. I am the geek in charge of a tech non profit org in Hawaii. www.HawaiianHope.org
    so yea.. i have at least half a clue.

Here is the deal.
    In doing drive copies, data recoveries, etc... when we are moving a mass amount of data from one drive to another we run into this problem a lot.
    "Error moving file or folder" -- "directory is not empty"

If you restart the move, it will continue on and keep going, restart enough times and eventually it will move all directories.

I think its a programming issue with windows and wonder if anyone has a work around ?

I have a suspicion that the copy process is getting out of sequence. That it is trying to move a folder before it actually emptied it. Possibilities are :
    1) windows forgot its place in moving through and navigating numerous sub directories and it is having a problem with “recursive calls.”
    2) Computers with hyper threading or dual core processors are spawning the movement of files across multiple processes, and some are getting ahead of the other.
    3) It did actually move the file, but the cache or something in memory has not updated, or the full data write has not completed yet before it tried to move the directory. (delayed write)