1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error msg opening EI

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by chaps22, Apr 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chaps22

    chaps22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Hi,

    I'm just looking for some help with IE. When I open IE I get this error msg: This program has performed an illegal operationand will be shut down. If the problem persists, contact the program vendor. Two options in the box are close and details. I am able to move the box with the error msg and IE works (as long as I don't close the box with the error msg), if I click close the box IE closes and if I click details I get this:

    EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module URLMON.DLL at 0177:1a406b8d.
    Registers:
    EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=1a406b8d EFLGS=00010202
    EBX=00000000 SS=017f ESP=018fea7c EBP=018fea9c
    ECX=1a4042bc DS=017f ESI=004cf84c FS=2d9f
    EDX=004e88f8 ES=017f EDI=00000001 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    8b 08 57 ff 74 24 10 50 ff 51 18 6a 00 8b ce 8b
    Stack dump:
    004cf6b8 1a406b22 004cf84c 00000000 637eb98c 00000000 031b6c20 00000000 018feacc 635e5f9a 00000001 00000000 031b6d0c 031b6c20 00000000 1a4042a1

    I have ran spybot search and destroy and ad-aware (made sure they were updated) and also got a virus scan. I found some info on it at http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=254490 however I have no QuickView plus entries in that reg key. I have also reinstalled IE. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    OS: WIN 98
    IE Version: 6.0
     
  2. starwaves77

    starwaves77

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    540
    Could be a problem with corrupted cache folders,
    You'll need to do this in DOS,
    Start / Shutdown / Restart in Ms Dos mode

    Type the following lines, pressing ENTER after each one:

    cd windows
    smartdrv
    deltree tempor~1
    deltree history
    deltree cookies


    Press 'Y' for yes,

    Then type win to get back to normal windows, you may have to confirm that with 'Y' for yes, or you can ctrl alt del to reboot,

    :)
     
  3. chaps22

    chaps22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks for the reply. I restarted in dos, it was on C:\WINDOWS>, I typed cd windows and hit enter, got "invalid directory", typed smartdrv, hit enter and got "bad command or file name", I then typed deltree tempor~1, it showed "deleting tempor~1..." and it stayed like that for an hour. I had to use ctrl+alt+delete to get out of if. Should I have waited longer or is there a reason why it would take that long. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. chaps22

    chaps22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    I was looking at a diff thread (win98 ie problem) and ran: rundll32 setupwbv.dll,IE6Maintenance "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Setup\SETUP.EXE" /g "C:\WINDOWS\IE Uninstall Log.Txt". Once the computer restarted I opened IE and didn't get the error msg. The problem was sporadic so I'll see if it reappears, hopefully not.
     
  5. lastone

    lastone

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    50
  6. sponsor

    sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    417
    try deleting the index.dat file/folder in your c/windows/cookies folder.

    before reinstalling, try a repair.
    control panel > add /remove programs
    select IE explorer, select click ok, select to repair.
     
  7. starwaves77

    starwaves77

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    540
    Chaps22,

    Since your promt is at C:\windows
    Just type the following:

    Start / Shutdown / Restart in Ms Dos mode

    Type the following lines, hit enter after each:

    smartdrv
    deltree tempor~1
    deltree history
    deltree cookies

    If you get an error with 'smartdrv' just proceed, smardrv improves the speed of the cleanup, but you don't have to use it,

    Looks like the explorer repair fixed it, good to know, still the above is useful to totally clear out the cache,

    :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217008

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice