Error msg's, invalid pgs etc. in Win98

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hdunn17

:confused: After crashing Win 95, the fellow that "fixed" it installed Win 98, thinking that I would be happy. Boy was he wrong! He took my money and ran. I have received so many error messages (Oe's, Od's, and invalid page blah blah blah), that I go to sleep counting oooo.0000 at modules etc. I have downloaded "Critical upgrades" from Microsoft, and from CatchUp (IE 6, Virtual Machine, DCom, yada yada, yada). It happens mostlyat Pogo.com (I'm in withdrawal for Wordwhomp). Does anybody know what's going on? I'm new at this computer "Stuff", but I sure have become literate in the last three weeks.

Give us some sample errors. If they are "illegal operations" click on the "details" tab and post the modules and addresses involved. If they are blue screens, give us the full, exact messages.

We need to know exactly when these errors occur, whether they are random or predictable and what you have running at the time. You can list what you see in Close Programs (ctrl-alt-del) besides Explorer and Systray and any open browser windows.

And if you have not run an updated antivirus scan, you can go here for an online one:

http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

hdunn17

I didn't always write down when it happened. It happened everywhere...especially the following OE & OD msgs:

OE 0028:FF010D06
OE 013F:0000663D
OE 0028:C02DCF8A
OE 0028:FF010D16
OD 0715:013F268B
OE 0028:FF010D16

Fatal exception OE at 0028:C02DD59A in VXD esp 32(02) +0000666E - press any key - connected to a blank white home page. I pressed C+A+D - "Program Not Responding". - End Task.