1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Error Mssg: "Could not find any compatible direct 3D devises".

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by thebigcheeser, Nov 9, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    Hi,

    I keep getting an error mssg when I try to preview a screen saver I D/L from Microsoft saying... "Could not find any compatible direct 3D devices".

    I have re-installed IE6
    I have re-installed Direct X 8.0
    I have re-installed WIN98

    I had other problems thats why I had to D/L all the above but this error seems to still be there.

    BTW> Everything else seems to work just fine on my comp!

    What shall I try now???
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,211
    Hiya

    What is your video card? Go to ControlPanel | System. Device Manager. Click on Video, or expand it, and there will be the name.

    You may also need updated drivers.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    Hi Eddie,

    In device manager, I dont have just a video item per se, it says sound, video and game controllers as one list. In that list shows "creative" audio PCI etc... along with 3 others in there but none refer to any "video"... ???

    I have to say, Im only having this problem with one item... and that is the "Flag" screensaver from MS... Everything else seems to work fine...

    I was just curious as to why it would say that error mssg in the first place!

    Thanks,
    Rudy

    P.S.> Where would I check to see what type of video card I have and what MB's it is??? I obviously have one...
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,211
    Okay

    You may have onboard. Can you give us the list of what you have under that sound, video....

    Do you have your MB booklet that came with the PC?

    As it only happens with the one program, I wouldn't worry too much, but lets see what we can see.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    I think my video is onboard... But here is everything that falls under the heading of Sound, Video and Game Controllers....

    1. Creative Ensoniq Audio PCI
    2. " Legacy Device
    3. Creative Gameport Joystick
    4. Wave Device for Voice Modem
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    video card will be listed under display adapter in device manager
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,211
    So it is...

    You learn something new everyday. Why did I go there? Hmmm

    eddie
     
  8. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    Hi guys,

    Ok, under display adapters it says "Cirrrus Logic 5434 PCI"...

    What does that mean??
     
  9. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  10. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    Brian,

    That link was helpful... I see a 5464 in there that is 3D... I wonder if I can just change the adapter??? Hmmm.... Im gonna fiddle around at it... At the worst Ive still learned something...


    Thanks.
     
  11. thebigcheeser

    thebigcheeser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    157
    Ooooook, call me an idiot.... lol

    Well I get it now... I thought the adapter was like a driver or something... Now I know the "adapter" is the actual video card and the number cannot be changed... Under Cirrus there is a listing of numbers etc... I thought those were something except the card!!! DUH...

    P.S.> Another Q: As I was re-booting I noticed alot of C: prompt lettering telling the comp to "rem" this and that... Some are correct but most are not like differrent networks I had tried to use yesterday etc...

    How do I remove all that extra rem stuff on the boot screen?


    Thanks.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58112

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice