"Error reading file" on pics just uploaded to PC from camera

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Hi all,
I received help here a few days ago about reinstalling MS Photo Editor on my computer. Somehow Windows Picture Gallery had taken over and I've since downloaded MS Photo Editor and set it as my default to view photos. The new problem is that I just uploaded new photos to my computer from my Canon Powershot and when I click to open them with MS photo editor I get an error message saying "Error opening file." MS Photo Editor is opening all of my old photo files just fine - it seems to be these new ones off my camera that are giving me trouble. When I open them with Windows Photo Gallery they open fine, but I hate using that program. Any advice? I'm so frustrated!
Erin
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
I am still able to use MS Photo Editor to open new photos that I've copied/saved off of the internet or email attachments. The problem seems to be only NEW photos that I've uploaded to the computer from my Canon Powershot. Any suggestions??
Thanks!!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
How are uploading from the camera? usb... card reader

What format are the new pictures that are from the camera? Maybe Canon propritary format that the editor can't read? raw or whatever Canon calls it.
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Hi there,
I use a usb to upload - I don't use the software that came with the camera - I just click "removable storage" - "DCIM" - "100 Canon" - then cut the photos from there and paste them into My Pictures.
Hmmm, I'm not sure re: format issue? Can you tell me how to check that?
THanks!!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
right click on one of them and select properties. Maybe you have changed a setting in the camera by mistake.

As a side note I always copy and paste when downloading images, then I check that they are for sure in the computer before formating the camera/card.

Cut and copy eliminates the option to check

Attach one of the new ones here if you like and I will have a look..
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Thank you. Everything looks the same in the properties area for photos taken before I downloaded the MS Photo Editor and after... I just don't get it! Do you think it could have something to do with MS Photo Editor itself? Like maybe I should unistall it and re-install?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
What is the file extention? .jpg or what

What happens if you try opening one MS Paint?

Do you think it could have something to do with MS Photo Editor itself?
Not likely, other than being a file extention it can't read
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
file extension is jpg... and they are opening fine with MS Paint (I just don't really like/know how to use that - I much prefer MS Photo Editor) - weird right?!
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Now this is very strange - I just now saw your kind offer to look at one of the photo files.
I tried twice to upload one of the photos i'm having trouble with and it said the upload failed!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
1,657
MS Photo Editor is old, and I believe it has problems with 'large' pictures.

What are the size of the camera photos in pixels?

Just for a test, you could try resizing one to half size. Or, set your camera to take a lower resolution photo. See if it will then open them.


moper
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
they are quite large... 1.71MB... but then it doesn't make sense that PE can open the ones that were already on the computer b/c they're all the same size. the only ones I can't open are the ones that I just cut/pasted off my camera. good tip re: COPYING instead of CUTTING... wish I had been doing that!
i've done a google search on the issue, and it seems others have had similar problems (particularly while running Vista), but I haven't yet been able to find a solution.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
1,598
Now this is very strange - I just now saw your kind offer to look at one of the photo files.
I tried twice to upload one of the photos i'm having trouble with and it said the upload failed!
Sorry I didn't mention you need to resize before uploading here at TSG.. You could host one at imageshack or another hosting site and link it to here.

moper maybe right about PE and Vista.. I won't get rid of XP Pro until He$$ freezes over... :)
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Okay, I uploaded one of the photos to imageshack - it's resized:
http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/8963/img4838j.jpg
The weird thing is that MS Photo Editor was working fine with Vista before I opened up a photo using windows photo gallery and seemed to have lost MS Photo Editor. So I downloaded a free version of it off the web, and now I'm having trouble that I wasn't having before.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
1,657
Where did this program that you downloaded install itself to?
Right click the shortcut, choose Properties, and note the location.

If you had MS Photo Editor previously installed, chances are that it is still there. It usually came with older versions of 'Office'.
Do you have an Office CD?

The default location was: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\PhotoEd

Look for these these files:
File Name Size Date Time
--------------------------------------------
Chalkcha.dll 80KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Emboss.dll 77KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Graphicp.dll 77KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Mscreate.dir 0KB 11/23/96 12:14 PM
Notepape.dll 78KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Photoed.cnt 5KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Photoed.exe 786KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Photoed.hlp 92KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Photoed.srg 10KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Stainedg.dll 90KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Stamp.dll 77KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
Texturiz.dll 157KB 11/17/96 12:00 AM
If they are there, doubleclick 'Photoed.exe', and try that.
Or make a new shortcut, pointing to this Photoed.exe.

Photoed also uses these filters to open various images. They are in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Grphflt

Bmpimp32.flt
Fpx32.flt
Gifimp32.flt
Jpegim32.flt
Pcximp32.flt
Png32.flt
Tgaimp32.flt
Tiffim32.flt



moper
 

EAC2010

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
19
Darn, just did that and the Photo Ed folder doesn't even appear... I wonder what the heck happened to my original MS Photo Editor program.
I think it's probably time to just download a new program and start fresh with something that works nicely with Vista. Do you have any suggestions for something similar to MS Photo Editor? I only really use it to crop photos, resize photos, and lighten/darken photos. But I do those things OFTEN so am looking for something without a lot of bells and whistles that will probably just confuse me!
As always, thanks so much for your help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top