Error Starting Program

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Hello. Right after I turn on the computer and right before all the desktop has loaded this msg. pops up: Error Starting Program ! The C:\WINDOWS\lEDLL.EXE file appears to be corrupt. Reinstall the file and then try again Then this msg. pops up on top of the first one: Loader ! Loader has caused an error in LOADER.EXE. Loader will now close. If you continue to experience problems try restarting your computer. I can close both of these windows and everything seems to work fine except sometimes my msn. com has been changed to Globel Finder, Xupiter or About Blank. Once I delete one of these three and put in msn.com things run pretty smoothly. Please help. I am really
frustrated with this stuff appearing out of nowhere and for no reason. Thank you, AndyCNC
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
AndyCNC
Welcome to TSG!
Seems you have a bunch of spyware and browser helper objects of least desire on your system. It is time to run through the drill listed Here

Do these found in article.......
Run the free online Antivirus scan fixing any problems found, then download, setup, update and run Spybot S&D per instructions given and fix any problems found. Lastly download, setup and run HiJack-This. Post the results back here after you have done the previous items.

Dave
 

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Davey, Sorry I had to contact you this way. Couldn't get in the other board. I tried your advice and ran the Trend Micro House Call Scan and it found 6 virus's on my computer. House Call said if the virus was of the Trojan, Joke type to simply delete them. The virus's are: REG STARTPAGE.A, JSAPAP.A, TROJ SMALL.J, TROJ THUNKER., and TROJ THUNKER .A These last 2 are identical. The SCAN RESULT line has Cannot Access on all of them. I can't delete them. What's my next step Dave? Thanks, AndyCNC
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Merged threads, hit the post reply button instead of new thread.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
What Windows version is this? If it is WinME, the infected files may have been found in the Restore archive. In that case, you need to disable system restore, then reboot and reenable it again. This deletes all restore points and flushes the archive.

See the WinMe instructions in this link:

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...5766df37140aed3b8825696500726d13?OpenDocument

If they are not in the Restore archive, what and where are they?

If they are in Temporary Internet files, the TIF cache may need to be deleted in DOS.
 

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Rollin' Rog

To answer your question I have WindowsMe. I clicked on the linked you suggested but I don't understand # 8 and # 9. Could you please explain and I will try your suggestion. I don't have NAV in my computer. Thank you, AndyCNC
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Andy, do you have a virus program installed on the computer? And if so, is it current?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Andy
After diasabling system restore go to housecalls again and see if it will give you a clean bill of heath. I believe Rog was thinking the viruses were present in the Restore Stores and there the antivirus cannot touch them thus giving you the message it gave you.

Dave
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
steps 8 and 9 were just for Nav users; the rest simply pertained to disabling and re-enabling System Restore.

But let us know the names and locations of the infected files if they remain after that.
 

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Ok here's the latest. I did the System Restore purge thing Rollin' Rog told me about. Then I did the SpyBot download and I got a bunch of red words with a lot of red ! Been at this thing so long I couldn't really comprehend what I'm suppose to do at this point so I'm going to rest for awhile and tackle it again later. Oh one other thing. I did the HouseCall again and it said it didn't find anything. I still get other browser pages when I boot up and those two error msgs. keep popping up.....the ones I cited earlier. I'm going to take about a 3 hour break and tackle it again. Thanks to all for being so kind and patient with me. AndyCNC
 

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Rollin'Rog, I've tried to paste but I'm limited to 50,000 on the message length and the log is close to 70,000. Do I reduce it to 50,000 or is there some way I can work around it? AndyCNC
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I've never seen a HijackThis Scanlog that couldn't be pasted here. Are you sure you are not confusing it with the Spybot Log? We don't want to see that, you can just have Spybot fix things, reboot, and then run HijackThis and post the HijackThis Scanlog which will show what is left, if anything, that needs to be done.

If for some reason this is the HijackThis Scanlog you are referring to, just upload it as a text file attachment. You will have to rename it HijackThis.txt
 

AndyCNC

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
9
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 11:09:17 AM, on 9/15/2003
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\CPQEADM.EXE
C:\COMPAQ\CPQINET\CPQINET.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\DIGITAL DASHBOARD\DEVGULP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\BTTNSERV.EXE
C:\CPQS\BWTOOLS\SCCENTER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\PCTVOICE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PRINTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\EAUSBKBD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SVA PLAYER\SVAPLAYER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\C9J9FNEK\HIJACKTHIS[1]\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,Default_Search_URL = http://64.245.122.178/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: EarthLink Popup Blocker - {4B5F2E08-6F39-479a-B547-B2026E4C7EDF} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\EARTHLINK POP-UP BLOCKER\PNEL.DLL (file missing)
O3 - Toolbar: Pop-Up Blocker - {D7F30B62-8269-41AF-9539-B2697FA7D77E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\EARTHLINK POP-UP BLOCKER\PNEL.DLL (file missing)
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQEASYACC] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\cpqeadm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EACLEAN] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQInet] c:\compaq\CPQInet\CpqInet.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Digital Dashboard] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Digital Dashboard\DevGulp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Service Connection] c:\cpqs\bwtools\sccenter.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCTVOICE] pctvoice.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LexStart] Lexstart.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LexmarkPrinTray] PrinTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AvconsoleEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsStatEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SVAPlayer] C:\Program Files\SVA Player\SVAPLAYER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MotiveMonitor] C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MatrixScreenSaver] C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\MSS.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MoneyAgent] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
O4 - Startup: Compaq Knowledge Center.lnk = C:\Program Files\Compaq Knowledge Center\bin\silent.exe
O9 - Extra button: Translate (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AV &Translate (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Find Pages Linking to this URL (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Find Other Pages on this &Host (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AV Live (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://*.216.187.80.232
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.0190-dialer.com
O16 - DPF: {90C9629E-CD32-11D3-BBFB-00105A1F0D68} (InstallShield Setup Player) - http://www.installengine.com/engine/isetup.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {81361155-FAF9-11D3-B0D3-00C04F612FF1} (MSN Chat Control 3.0) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat3.cab
O16 - DPF: {C3DFA998-A486-11D4-AA25-00C04F72DAEB} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://sc.communities.msn.com/controls/PhotoUC/MsnPUpld.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {29C13B62-B9F7-4CD3-8CEF-0A58A1A99441} (MSN Chat Control 4.1) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat41.cab
O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37875.4750925926
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/76808a0e7ae82f/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab



Rollin'Rog, If you'll notice the log copied twice and again put me over the 50,000 mark. I deleted up to this point in order to meet the maximum length. SpyBot said I had 56 problems but none were checked. The 2 error msgs. no longer pop up when I boot up so I musta done something right. What I don't know but I musta. What's next. AndyCNC PS I don't have a anti virus program loaded to my computer. Any suggestions?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top