1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Error When trying to open .jpg files

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by rbulot, Sep 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rbulot

    rbulot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Hi Folks,
    I have all of my photos in "Pictures" file. I have several apps that I can open files with. My issue is when I double click to open a .jpg file I get the error message that the file does not exist at that location. If I double click a .tif or .psd file it opens with Photoshop, no error. I'm able to open .jpg files with the "open with" selection and choosing Photoshop, Picasa, Irfan view, and Paint. Please, does anyone have some thoughts about solving this?
    I'm on Win 10Pro 64
    Here's PS info:
    Adobe Photoshop Version: 2017.1.1 20170425.r.252 2017/04/25:23:00:00 CL 1113967 x64
    Number of Launches: 66
    Version: 10 or greater
    System architecture: Intel CPU Family:6, Model:14, Stepping:5 with MMX, SSE Integer, SSE FP, SSE2, SSE3,

    Thanks, Richard
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,500
    What is your Default double click "Open With" for a jpg ???
    I'd suggest using Irfanview as your default image viewer/editor.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
  3. rbulot

    rbulot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Thank you, I have two questions, how do I find the selection screen for "open with" that you attached. I do not know why this has anything to do with why I get the error when double clicking a .jpg file, please explain. I have attached a screen shot of the error in .docx format.
    Thanks again, Richard
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,500
    In W7 it's .... Rclick the jpg >> Open With >> Choose Default program ...
    I'm guessing W10 is the same.
    I'd choose Irfanview .. What program do you see ???
    I can't tell what program is giving you the error ???
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Error trying open
  1. TooOldForTech
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    666
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1197174