1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ESATA or USB 2.0

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kalabula, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kalabula

kalabula Thread Starter

I am in need of a few 500gb drives and was wondering if there is a massive advantage to ESATA as opposed to USB 2.0.

I hope this doesn't sound dumb as I am not very tech savvy.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

The one advantage eSATA has is speed, probably about three times as fast a transfer rate as USB 2.0. OTOH, USB 2.0 has the advantage that you can carry your disk to almost any computer on the planet and access the data.

You make the call. :)

3. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    There are some enclosures that offer both eSATA and USB 2.0 connectivity, then you can have the advantages of both.

4. JohnWill

And there's that option. :D

5. kalabula

kalabula Thread Starter

This is the drive that I was looking at. Unfortunatley It is not listed as being compatible with Vista. But, If I where to buy this and transfered files to it wth my computer using SATA, could I then take it to my moms computer and hook it up via USB 2.0 for data transfer?

Also Im not sure if my current computer already has SATA ports. What do they look like? And will that port that comes with the drive that I was looking at get me going if I don't find any SATA ports on my current computer.

Also that drive is not listed to work with Vista so I am worried about t

Sorry for all the questions.

6. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob