1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ESS modem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BlackHorseman, Jan 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BlackHorseman

    BlackHorseman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Hi,

    Some time ago I went into a computer store and asked for a hardware internal modem. They sold me ESS ES56T-PI Data Fax Voice Modem (Model No': 2818), telling me it was what I asked for. Later, casually asking about ESS modems in another store they told me ESS DID NOT MAKE HARDWARE MODEMS AT ALL.
    My question is, well, it's pretty obvious, isn't it?
    :)

    Thanks,
    Daniel.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    ESS makes modem chipsets, obviously someone else actually manufactured the modem. Without more data, it's hard to say who... However, here's a place that appears to have drivers for them. ESS Modem Drivers
     
  3. BlackHorseman

    BlackHorseman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Hi,

    No, I have the driver for it (actually, I'm connected right now using this modem. Works fine :)). The thing is, I think the owners of this store are not very honest. I want to know if they lied to me about this modem. They told me it was a hardware modem, and sold it to me for 25 bucks. I went to another store and there the salesman told me they sold the same model (ESS 2818) for 16 bucks, and that it was a software modem. I want to know who is telling the truth. You see, in my country, lying comes very natural to computer appliances stores salesmen.

    Thanks,
    Daniel.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The modem is a WinModem, i.e. the compression and error correction is done in the driver.
     
  5. BlackHorseman

    BlackHorseman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    So, and forgive me for being so meticulous, it is not a hardware modem, right?
     
  6. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    As johnwill said, it in a winmodem or controllerless. See here,
    http://www.modem-help.co.uk/chips/ess2898.html

    The best way to tell in the future is to look at the system requirements, if it lists windows as a requirement then it does not have an onboard controller. If it says it will work with windows, dos, linux and other operating systems, it will have an onboard controller.

    SeeYa
     
  7. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    And to answer your question, Nope, they lied. A hardware modem will have an onboard controller and will cost about double or more.

    SeeYa
     
  8. BlackHorseman

    BlackHorseman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Thats what I wanted to know.

    Now I'm gonna sue their *****.
    This sounds better, right?

    :)

    Thanks and sorry,
    Daniel.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111998

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice