ESS modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Hi,

Some time ago I went into a computer store and asked for a hardware internal modem. They sold me ESS ES56T-PI Data Fax Voice Modem (Model No': 2818), telling me it was what I asked for. Later, casually asking about ESS modems in another store they told me ESS DID NOT MAKE HARDWARE MODEMS AT ALL.
My question is, well, it's pretty obvious, isn't it?
:)

Thanks,
Daniel.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
ESS makes modem chipsets, obviously someone else actually manufactured the modem. Without more data, it's hard to say who... However, here's a place that appears to have drivers for them. ESS Modem Drivers
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Hi,

No, I have the driver for it (actually, I'm connected right now using this modem. Works fine :)). The thing is, I think the owners of this store are not very honest. I want to know if they lied to me about this modem. They told me it was a hardware modem, and sold it to me for 25 bucks. I went to another store and there the salesman told me they sold the same model (ESS 2818) for 16 bucks, and that it was a software modem. I want to know who is telling the truth. You see, in my country, lying comes very natural to computer appliances stores salesmen.

Thanks,
Daniel.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The modem is a WinModem, i.e. the compression and error correction is done in the driver.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
As johnwill said, it in a winmodem or controllerless. See here,
http://www.modem-help.co.uk/chips/ess2898.html

The best way to tell in the future is to look at the system requirements, if it lists windows as a requirement then it does not have an onboard controller. If it says it will work with windows, dos, linux and other operating systems, it will have an onboard controller.

SeeYa
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
And to answer your question, Nope, they lied. A hardware modem will have an onboard controller and will cost about double or more.

SeeYa
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Thats what I wanted to know.

Now I'm gonna sue their *****.
This sounds better, right?

:)

Thanks and sorry,
Daniel.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top