1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethenet Switch keeps needing resetting

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CAJC, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CAJC

    CAJC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Recently I took down one of my ethernet switches to try another in its place. I then reinstated it (for reasons not relevant here) Now, quite suddenly, without any changes being made to my network I am having to regularly reset this ethernet switch, which seems to 'hang' every few hours, stopping any network communication for those computers attached to it.

    It has worked like a dream for 2 years. Do you think it is just on its way out or can anyone suggest why this might be happening. Its a 3COM 10mbps 24 port switch with a load of workstations, 1 server and a fibre optic converter attached to it. Once restarted the switch works absolutely fine.....for a few hours!

    Thanks
     
  2. Norm Fisher

    Norm Fisher

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I don't know if it's the case or not, but I had a similar situation and was resetting the switch (netgear 5-port) pretty regularly .. three or four times a week. Finally looked a bit closer at it and decided that it's bad, several ports just weren't passing data reliably. We've lost about 5 switches due to lightning so far, even though we try to unplug everything each time a lightning storm comes through.
     
  3. bsop

    bsop

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    That switch is a fairly dumb device.
    Even if you could log in to manage the device, each time you reset it, it defaults to the original state. It is not like a Cisco switch that would have been $1000.00 or more in its day and is fully manageable.
    In other words, it is now a boat ankor.
    Sorry. Switches are reasonable cheap today, 24 port are a little more expensive though.
     
  4. plucnik

    plucnik

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Sounds like a bad switch. The good news is that 3COM switches have a lifetime warranty (if you want to send it back to them). The bad news is when they fix it, you still have a 10mbs switch. I agree with bsop. Switches are pretty inexpensive today. I purchased a 24 port gigabit (unmanaged) switch from Dell a few weeks ago for about $400 (real good for a small office-10/100 are around $200 if I recall). Most NIC cards are 10/100mbs anyway. You can realize a significant improvement in your network speed if you upgrade.
     
  5. CAJC

    CAJC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks everyone. I agree that the switch is a boat anchor (nice expression , by the way!) and I've got 3 x HP Procurve 10/100s coming to replace them.

    In the meantime I've swapped the duff one out for another old switch and it seems to be holding in there until I can install the new ones.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218056

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice