1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet and wireless on same PC

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bahnzo, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bahnzo

    bahnzo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Here's something that is causing massive loss of hair.....

    My PC is connected to my router with a wireless card. I also connect my PS2 to my PC using an ethernet connection (the ps2 is "modified" and I use this connection to play music and video thru the ps2 to the TV).

    Everything works fine with one exception. It seems like the wireless is not getting a DNS. To obtain one, I have to disable the ethernet card, connect to my AP, then enable the card. If I lose my connect with the AP (which happens sometimes, it's on the other side of the house and the signal is a little weak), then when it reconnects I have to do the whole disable/enable thing.

    It's not a huge deal, but I do like my stuff to work properly and usually things like this are not problem for me, but this one really has me wondering. Anyone have any ideas?

    Here's my ipconfig /all if that helps. What's odd is the ipconfig is *exactly* the same when I can connect and when I can't. So maybe it's not a DNS issue, but something else. But I am unable to connect to any web sites until I disable and re-enable the ethernet card.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HAL
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.actdsltmp

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5005G Cardbus Wireless Net
    work Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-70-13-F6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    205.171.3.65
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 27, 2007 12:31:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 28, 2007 12:31:39 PM


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-B7-DF-2B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. kratak

    kratak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Hi

    Is your machine running dhcp/dns or your AP, as your ethernet adapter has the same IP as what i would assume is your AP, which should be different.
     
  4. bahnzo

    bahnzo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    DOH! I guess that would do it. The PS2 likes to use 192.168.0.1 as a default. When I get a few minutes, I'll change the ethernet to a 10.x.x.x and use that instead. I'm betting that will solve it.

    Thanks! An extra pair of eyes always does the trick.......
    (y)
     
  5. bahnzo

    bahnzo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Just a followup for those who actually (gasp) search and might find this problem similar......

    Changing the ethernet card to 10.x.x.x solved this problem. Using 192.168.0.1 was the same as the wireless access point and hence caused the problem.

    Fixed!
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/616007