1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet Cable plugged in with no internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jonnybui, Mar 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Hi, I just built a new computer yesterday and I was using a usb wifi adapter. The wifi seemed a little slow to me so I wanted to switch to ethernet cable. I picked up a 50 foot cable at fry's and connected from the modem/router top my computer. I was told that connection would happen instantly but it didn't. I tried downloading drivers, messing around in settings, and removing the battery from my motherboard for a minute and putting it back in. The ethernet cable is not the problem since it works when i use it on the other computer that is currently on ethernet cable as well.

    I'm running windows 7.
    Motherboard is ASROCK FM2A88M-hd
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jonny-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin USB Wireless Adaptor
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-86-3B-58-9C-04
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::51b6:198:a356:c861%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.9(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 02, 2014 11:15:31 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 03, 2014 11:15:32 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352880187
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-A4-D8-8F-08-86-3B-58-9C-04
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    68.238.64.12
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    there no ethernet adapter shown there
    please provide
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager

    Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
    For Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
    Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    For Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    For windows Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/
    For Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  5. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Network Adapater
    Belkin USB Wireless Adaptor
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you provide the full deatils of the
    Network Adapter
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X

    drivers an utilities here

    LAN driver here
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A88M-HD+/?cat=Download&os=Win7

    where did you get windows 7 from to install on the new PC

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    The "other devices" section says "network controller" with a yellow triangle with ! in it.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.
     
  8. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    I have tried many times to use the Realtek Lan driver ver:7.73.618.2013. every time i go through the process, i end up with "The Realtek Network Controller was not found. If deep sleep mode is enabled please plug the cable"
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try in safe mode

    - try safemode
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode - see if that works and installs the driver
     
  10. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    I received a copy from my friend. It was a family pack or something like that.

    Safe mode did not work. i receive the same realtek network controller not found message
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a screen shot of device manager - network adapters
     
  12. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,942
    we will need to verify the MGA on that installation. Please do the following:

    Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
    • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
    • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
    • Click "Continue"
    • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
    • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
     
  13. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
  14. jonnybui

    jonnybui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
    -----------------------------------------
    Windows Validation Data-->

    Validation Code: 0x8004FE21
    Cached Online Validation Code: N/A, hr = 0xc004f012
    Windows Product Key: *****-*****-GJY49-VJBQ7-HYRR2
    Windows Product Key Hash: W5/6nm6F2UPXrCkY5xUhXb/+21g=
    Windows Product ID: 00426-OEM-8992662-00006
    Windows Product ID Type: 2
    Windows License Type: OEM SLP
    Windows OS version: 6.1.7601.2.00010100.1.0.001
    ID: {F00C248D-8B91-4005-A8DA-C587272E1600}(1)
    Is Admin: Yes
    TestCab: 0x0
    LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Product Name: Windows 7 Ultimate
    Architecture: 0x00000009
    Build lab: 7601.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532
    TTS Error:
    Validation Diagnostic:
    Resolution Status: N/A

    Vista WgaER Data-->
    ThreatID(s): N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    Windows XP Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    File Exists: No
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Data-->
    Office Status: 109 N/A
    OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-364-80041010_025D1FF3-229-80041010_025D1FF3-230-1_025D1FF3-517-80040154_025D1FF3-237-80040154_025D1FF3-238-2_025D1FF3-244-80070002_025D1FF3-258-3

    Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
    Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
    Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
    Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
    Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
    Active scripting: Allowed
    Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

    File Scan Data-->
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\systemcpl.dll[6.1.7600.16385], Hr = 0x800b0100
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\user32.dll[6.1.7600.16385], Hr = 0x800b0100

    Other data-->
    Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{F00C248D-8B91-4005-A8DA-C587272E1600}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>6.1.7601.2.00010100.1.0.001</OS><Architecture>x64</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-HYRR2</PKey><PID>00426-OEM-8992662-00006</PID><PIDType>2</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-3868252298-2010318767-3744191617</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>To Be Filled By O.E.M.</Manufacturer><Model>To Be Filled By O.E.M.</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>American Megatrends Inc.</Manufacturer><Version>P1.40</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="7"/><Date>20131014000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>07063D07018400F2</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Pacific Standard Time(GMT-08:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM/><GANotification/></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/><Applications/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

    Spsys.log Content: 0x80070002

    Licensing Data-->
    Input Error: Can not find script file "C:\Windows\system32\slmgr.vbs".

    Windows Activation Technologies-->
    HrOffline: 0x00000000
    HrOnline: N/A
    HealthStatus: 0x0000000000000000
    Event Time Stamp: N/A
    ActiveX: Registered, Version: 7.1.7600.16395
    Admin Service: Not Registered - 0x80070005
    HealthStatus Bitmask Output:


    HWID Data-->
    HWID Hash Current: MAAAAAEAAwABAAEAAAACAAAAAQABAAEA6GEmUXqH7vsmSlQG6GgMgZ7U0LAT+zTv

    OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
    N/A

    OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
    BIOS valid for OA 2.0: yes, but no SLIC table
    Windows marker version: N/A
    OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: N/A
    BIOS Information:
    ACPI Table Name OEMID Value OEMTableID Value
    APIC ALASKA A M I
    FACP ALASKA A M I
    HPET ALASKA A M I
    MCFG ALASKA A M I
    FPDT ALASKA A M I
    AAFT ALASKA OEMAAFT
    SSDT AMD BANTRY
    SSDT AMD BANTRY
    CRAT AMD BANTRY
    SSDT AMD BANTRY
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    The software you have is an OEM provided software , which comes with new PC and not a retail mutli-license copy

    also the windows key is available all over the internet, and so is most likely a pirate copy

    if your friend has provided a genuine mutli-license copy, then you should get in touch with microsoft to have the passkey set to a genuine copy

    we cannot help on this version of windows
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1121080

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice