1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet cable wont work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by madguitarist09, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madguitarist09

    madguitarist09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I just ran an ethernet cable from my router, in my office, all the way upstairs across the house to my bedroom to hook up to my ps3. I finally crimped the ends and went to test it and it doesn't work. I made sure that the wires went into the connectors correctly. I cant figure out what is wrong! Any ideas?? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,130
    What wiring standard did you follow? T568A or B?
     
  3. simplefix123

    simplefix123

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    it doesnt even see the router at all?
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,953
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Did you use the matching type of crimp plugs for the type of stranded or solid conductor cable you are using?
     
  5. sexnage

    sexnage

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    The simple way to find out if you connect all the colors correctly is to test the cable RG45 with a tester. Plug both ends and you should be able to see the same connection number on both boxes. If they were done correctly, then the problem is in your PS3. Another way to do it, is to try the cable you just made with you pc connect it into the router.

    jaime
     
  6. madguitarist09

    madguitarist09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I used TIA-568B. I tried hooking my laptop to it and it still doesnt work. Do you think something happened to the wire while i was pulling it through walls and such?
     
  7. sexnage

    sexnage

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    If you tested the cable with your laptop and does not work, 2 things might had happen, one the cable are not matching correctly and if they are, definitively the cable got cut while you were pulling it. Sorry


    Jaime
     
  8. K7M

    K7M

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    I have made hundreds of cables and occasionally I will end up with a bad crimp on one of the connectors. I would simply change the rj45 at one end of the cable and try it, if that doesn't work try the other end. It is very easy to have the wires slip out just a tad while making the crimp and not have a connection.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975912

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice