1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ethernet card not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ballplyr, Nov 6, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ballplyr

    ballplyr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    I just recently installed the Netgear FA311 fast ethernet pci card onto my computer. when i installed it it said that the card was properly installed and was working. when i check the device manager i click on "view devices by type" and it is listed but when i click "view devices by connection" it isnt there. also the lights on the actual card do not light up when i plug in the ethernet cord. OS is windows 98. any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.
     
  2. StevenYoungMin

    StevenYoungMin

    Joined:
    May 24, 1999
    Messages:
    196
    I wouldn't be bothered about it not being there on the view by connection screen - my ethernet card isn't on that screen either and it works fine. Have you installed all the network stuff the clients and protocols like TCPIP, IPX etc??

    Steven
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    What device is on the other end of the cable you are plugging into your network card...a hub..router...another PC's NIC?
     
  4. ballplyr

    ballplyr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    I am connected to a LAN. it is at a college so it goes directly into the wall. i dont know what i am supposed to load. i just did the automatically detect settings.
     
  5. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    You'll need to contact someone at your college to get the connection set up. They may require certain protocols and settings, and people here would just be guessing.

    The network jack on the wall might need to be activated as well.
     
  6. StevenYoungMin

    StevenYoungMin

    Joined:
    May 24, 1999
    Messages:
    196
    You need to register the machine and the mac address with the network - sometimes the computing service of the college will do this online if you can find another computer on the network - also make sure that you are using the correct cable - if it is an RJ45 cable make sure it is not wired to loop back.

    Good luck
     
  7. columbo

    columbo

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,178
    Hi,

    Just to add on to what the other guys are saying, you'll have to expand several components (PCI Bus, PCI Bridge) in Device Manager, before you'll see your card (when viewing by connection). And if you aren't getting connectivity lights at the back of your card, I'd check the cable, and make sure that the drop has been activated. :) (I think that this was already hinted at).
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/57774

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice