Ethernet card problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aseembehl

I am using DSL-502T D-link ADSL Router to connect to my ADSL connection.(256kbps)

I am connecting the above router to my computer through a USB wire.

My router also suppors ethernet card connection with the modem and I have heard ethernet card makes broadband speeds better so I wanted to connect the router to my ethernet card(DAVICOM 9102/A PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter).I have never used the ethernet card before, so i connected it with my router and then enabled the connection, but my computer gives me the message(Limited or no connectivity) and I am not able to browse the internet.

I also updated the drivers, but it gives me the same message.

Please help.

Thanking you in advance for reading this

aseem

Try turning everything off. Power back on in this order. Modem/router, then the computer.

Is that router a modem/router combination?

What you are trying to do will be more reliable than USB.

aseembehl

Thanks for ur reply,

I think it is just the router(I am rather sure)

will try what u said and comeback here

aseembehl

I tried what u said, but still got the same error, LIMITED OR NO NETWORK CONNECTIVITY.

please help

Also will there be no increase in downloading/uploading speed of my connection even after using the ethernet card?

aseem

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
I doubt it'll increase the speed, but usually Ethernet makes the network more stable than USB.

With the Ethernet connected, do this:

Open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

aseembehl

This is what I got:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : abc-abb5a56795a

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown