1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ethernet connection says connected but internet doesn't work help please!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by omgsaveme, Nov 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Well when i plus in the Ethernet cable it says its connected but if i open up Mozilla i get this error in browser if i try to connect to Google. jar:file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mozilla%20Firefox/chrome/en-US.jar!/locale/browser-region/region.propertieswww.google.com. Also I've done the winsock fixes in cmd and this is not the cause of spyware/malware, I ran malwarebytes, sybot search and destroy, and also adware and it came up clean. Furthermore if i ping myself or google for instance, it times out.

    Here's the IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : vaio-laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : uci.edu
    uci.edu

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : uci.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-EE-8E-CA
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.234.92.72
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.64.102
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 128.200.1.201
    128.200.192.202
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:34:46
    AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:34:46
    PM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : uci.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : LAN-Express AS IEEE 802.11g miniPCI
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-9B-55-9C-52
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 128.200.1.201
    128.200.192.202
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:19:34
    AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 10:19:3
    4 AM


    Thanks for your help! I appreciate it.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Something is overridden there, let's reset the DHCP configuration.


    Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.

    • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Connection Status window.
    • Click the Properties button to open the Connection Properties window.
    • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
    • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
    • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
    • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.
     
  3. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I went to the areas specified the options was alrdy set to obtain a IP address automatically and DNS server address automatically.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,659
    First Name:
    Terry
    Maybe driver corruption. Use Device Manager to uninstall the ethernet; reboot and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.
     
  5. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I uninstalled the Ethernet here's the IP CONFIG/ ALL the problem is still happening.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : vaio-laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : uci.edu
    uci.edu

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : uci.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : LAN-Express AS IEEE 802.11g miniPCI
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-9B-55-9C-52
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.112
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 128.200.1.201
    128.200.192.202
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 2:50:56 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 2:50:56
    PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : uci.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-EE-8E-CA
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.234.92.72
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.234.92.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.64.102
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 128.200.1.201
    128.200.192.202
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 3:22:35 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 3:22:35
    AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>PING 169.234.92.71

    Pinging 169.234.92.71 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Hardware error.

    Ping statistics for 169.234.92.71:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,844
    First Name:
    James
    When you see the "connected: 100Mbps" message, that means there is a connection between your computer and whatever is on the end of it.

    As for this:

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.234.92.72

    That is similar to the APIPA address, though usually the second number is 254 so what that means is that it's not finding any DHCP servers to get an IP address. Since you have that ip address, you won't be able to ping anything else on that network, hence the pinged timed out.

    What is your computer connecting to?
     
  7. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    my computer is connected primarily to the Ethernet connection, but it seems to not be working for I get no internet. There are no other connections i am aware of other than wireless b/c of the Ethernet connection not working.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,659
    First Name:
    Terry
    Couriant, thank you for pointing out that the IP is NOT an APIPA; it is a public IP address. (I was misreading it.) So, presumably the IP configuration is good.

    The pings that should be tried are

    ping 169.234.92.72 (or whatever the current IP address is)
    ping 169.234.92.1 (or whatever the current Default Gateway is)
    ping 209.131.36.159
    ping yahoo.com
     
  9. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    ok i pinged those four first one received the packets last 3 the 4 packets got lost


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 169.234.92.72

    Pinging 169.234.92.72 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 169.234.92.72: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.234.92.72: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.234.92.72: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.234.92.72: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 169.234.92.72:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 169.234.92.1

    Pinging 169.234.92.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 169.234.92.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 209.131.36.159

    Pinging 209.131.36.159 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.131.36.159:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,659
    First Name:
    Terry
    Before the driver reinstall you were not being assigned a Default Gateway. Now you have a Default Gateway but cannot communicate with it.

    Could be a faulty ethernet adapter or a defective cable (I once had a cable good enough to get an IP configuration but less than 25% of pings got replies).

    You could also try Safe Mode with Networking to test if there is some software causing the issue (doubt it since you get a wireless connection also, but still possible). What, if any, non Windows firewall or security suite do you have?
     
  11. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I do not have firewall, spybot search and destroy run on my system but does not and has not interfered with my internet at all. The cable is fine I tried to get Ethernet with my friend's Ethernet cable that was working fine but on my machine it didn't get internet still so that's not the problem. For the same reason its not the ethernet adapter for we connect to the same outlet in the wall and switching outlets has no effect. Also how exactly do you safe mode with networking? By the way thanks for your time and effort. If anyone could add more input taht would be great I would love to solve this problem soon for its affecting my college online homework and online programming classes. Thanks again!
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,844
    First Name:
    James
    TN, thanks for clarification... i never seen a public IP address close enough to the APIPA.

    Could it be possible that the DHCP server is giving out incorrect gateway address? by the looks of it that is from the school
     
  13. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    So what would be the next course of action?
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,844
    First Name:
    James
    I assume that it is through the school?

    If the default gateway is down, then it will be a problem on the school's end.
     
  15. omgsaveme

    omgsaveme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    the problem does not lie with the school. my room mate who also gets it through the school has no problem attaining it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/874146

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice