Ethernet Controller help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rds707

My old desktop has been running slow for along time so i thought i would completely wipe it and reinstall windows xp on it. It made the computer alot faster but i can't connect to the internet. Im not very good with computers but when I go to the device manager it says that both the Ethernet Controller and the Multimedia Audio Controller are missing, they have yellow question marks beside them. Does anyone know how I could get my internet working? If it helps I have a 1394 Net Adapter Im not sure if that helps at all.

and welcome to the Forum

You just need to load the Motherboard drivers. What Brand and Model is this PC? . . if a custom build, Brand and model of Motherboard

Nothing wrong with Dells . . actually they are one of the best when it comes to support

You can go to the Dell support site, enter your Service Tag Number and download the drivers. Be sure to use IE and do not use the Dell Download Manager!

Just download the driver file, save it to the desktop and double click to install

On the list of drivers, click on the driver file:

Then the download button here:

See this for the order they should be installed:
http://support.dell.com/support/top...0C0937D62A8739E0401E0A55174744&doclang=en&cs=

Rds707

Do you know how I could get that to my computer from my laptop? Because of that I have no internet on my desktop or is that even the problem for the no internet?

Copy the drivers to a flash drive or burn them to a CD . . install on the other one

Rds707

Before i saw you say don't use their download manager i did and now it wont let me download it do you know how to just download it using ur browser again?

Rds707