ethernet controller

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

skankmonkey

I just got my computer reformatted and when i try to connect my dsl connection with ethernet, it says there's no ethernet installed. I went into device manager and there was a yellow question mark with a little exclamation point on by "ethernet controller",i checked its properties and it said "the drivers for this device are not installed." when i try to reinstall the drivers it says i need a cd or floppy disk with the hardware. Can anyone PLEASE help me? where can i find this driver?!!

if you can get a product id number off of hardware you can google the driver for it (make sure its for your OS)

skankmonkey

where would i find the product ID number, i'm a beginner at computers so i'm a little confused.

what are your system specs I might be able to help ? is it onboard lan or a seperate card? If its on board lan your chipset drivers should include drivers.

skankmonkey

i'm still confused...sorry. i'm just trying to get the driver to install the ethernet so i can install a wrieless router for my laptop.

Your ethernet card is it onboard or did it plug into your mother board?

Also if you can take it out it is not onboard, and look at the serial (like) numbers on the piece of harware the ethernet card itself, if you find like a (Example) Gh7492E type number google that for the driver

wacor

Banned
when you reformatted did you have separate applications and driver discs? Or was there one disc that should have installed everything?

Go into the control panel and click on adminstrative tools and then click on computer management. on the left you will see device manager. Click on that and see if there is something yellow and let us know

skankmonkey

there's the yellow question marks, thats the only yellow i see, i didn't reformat, somone else did it.