1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ethernet light is not working with modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by luckypizza57, Aug 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. luckypizza57

    luckypizza57 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    my modem dose not work' the light of ethernet or usb dose not go on can use phone went using laptop window 2000 panasoinc thougbook cf-48 the ethernet has a yellow( !) help luckypizza57:eek:
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. luckypizza57

    luckypizza57 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    1' netzero 2' 2wire gateway 3'model adsl 2wire rg 2071-00 the modem dsl come with single filter, dual dsl filter,yellow ethernet cable dsl gray phone cord , dsl power cord went I do the test it said connection fail hope this heip luckypizza57:eek:
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    All phone equipment EXCEPT the modem should be filtered, the modem should NOT be filtered!
     
  5. luckypizza57

    luckypizza57 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    the modem has single filters then there is a dual one you put in the modem the gray cord in the dual filter that said DSL/HPNA In the other you put phone line luckypizza57:eek:
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    OK, that's fine, that's the socket that doesn't have a filter inline with it.

    If you've changed nothing, and you don't get an indication that you have a DSL connection, I'd suspect the ISP first, and perhaps the modem second.
     
  7. luckypizza57

    luckypizza57 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    I think it the ethernet driver went I look at driver there is yellow ouestion ? mark could the ethernet be the one that not working what do you think ? luckypizza57:eek:
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, if you have a ? on the Ethernet driver, that's a HUGE clue as to the root of the problem!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/855540