1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet not working.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wolfwood25, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    I'm having problems with my ethernet. I don't think my computer is detecting my ethernet because my internet doesn't work when i try to connect with my ethernet. I think it stopped working after i recovered(where it deleted everything) my computer. So i'm hoping someone can help me fix it. Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see if it can see any adapters

    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?

    then tell us how you are connected and all makes and models - PC, Router, Modem etc

    also post an ipconfig /all



    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  3. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    in the network adapters, it shows actiontec gateway but thats because i'm connected through usb. I have Qwest DSL Modem Actiontec GT701 - WG, also i have a router connected, it's a airlink.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\John Yu>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : medion
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.actdsltmp

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Actiontec Gateway
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B3-31-92-57
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::20f:b3ff:fe31:9257%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    205.171.3.65
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 13, 2008 1:11:08 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 14, 2008 1:11:08 PM

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-02
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.2%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\John Yu>
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have IPv6 on the XP machine - you can de-install this
     
  5. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    what does that mean and how do i de-install it?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    do i install or uninstall?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    uninstall
     
  9. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    hmmm do i install it back cause my ethernet is still not working.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    No -
    Post an ipconfig /all
    again lease

    lets see the numbers now
     
  11. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\****>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : medion
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.actdsltmp

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.actdsltmp
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Actiontec Gateway
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B3-31-92-57
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    205.171.3.65
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 15, 2008 4:02:04 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 16, 2008 4:02:04
    PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\****>
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    well that IP looks OK

    can you repeat

    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?

    and post back the names of the components and if any ! or X or ? are there

    then PING the gateway

    start
    run
    cmd
    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping google.com

    post back the results - same method as you posted the ipconfig
     
  13. wolfwood25

    wolfwood25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    uh in the device manager the shows Actiontec Gateway no ! or X.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=255

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 15ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [72.14.207.99] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 72.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=214ms TTL=245
    Reply from 72.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=166ms TTL=245
    Reply from 72.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=244ms TTL=245
    Reply from 72.14.207.99: bytes=32 time=263ms TTL=245

    Ping statistics for 72.14.207.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 166ms, Maximum = 263ms, Average = 221ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\>
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it can see the gateway and it can ping google OK

    so you are connected ok

    I would look at firewall settings or spyware

    turn the firewall off and see if it works
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/671249

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice