1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet not working.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheVamp, Dec 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheVamp

    TheVamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Ok i just got a new brand router and I was trying to connect it thro lan to my PC which has a crappy wireless range, So I connect the cable and i get the massage "Network cable unplugged", However, I tried it on 2 other laptops and it worked great IBM(XP) HP(Vista).

    -I own a HP Pavilion a6140.me. Just to let you all know that there is nothing wrong with the cable because it used to work great on our old router.
     
  2. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    You're saying the same router, cable and port works OK on the other computers?
    Uninstall the ethernet adapter on the HP Pavilion and reboot to reinstall.
    Does the light on the NIC come on?
     
  3. TheVamp

    TheVamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Yes I tried it on the same cable and router, I also did a re-install, that did not work.

    The light on the router doesnt go on when i connect the cable to my pc, However, it does on the other laptops i tried the cable with.

    this is my local area connection "Intel(R) 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection".
     
  4. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    That suggests your NIC is bad or loose. Open the case and re-seat the NIC if it's a card.
    If it's built-in and you've reinstalled it, it's probably failed.
    They are cheap and easy to replace.
     
  5. TheVamp

    TheVamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Ok I will try and do that, thanks alot for the help and quick replies.

    Just to let you know that my pc used to work great on our old router with ethernet connection. My brother owns a HP laptop himself and i also tried the cable on his machine it worked great, no delay no nothing.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/777288

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice