1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet On/Off Switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ottabear, May 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ottabear

    ottabear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    :confused: Got an odd one for you, but someone might have run across it.

    In addition to software security devices when accessing the Internet, I use hardware security as well. Since being disconnected from the Internet is the best possible security, I use an RJ-45 coupler in the Ethernet cable between my computer and the cable modem, keeping one or other side of the cable disconnected except when I'm actually using the Internet (downloading mail, etc.)

    This is quite convenient, but the Ethernet connectors invariably break after 100 or so connect/disconnect cycles, and the cable segment has to be replaced.

    The best solution, if anyone has ever seen or heard of one, would be an on/off switch designed to link two RJ-45 Ethernet cables. Not as good would be a little two-port Ethernet "hubby", such as used to be available for a while 10 or 12 years ago, with its own power supply; I could then use an ordinary 120V AC on/off switch to control the Internet connection by powering the hubby up and down. But I can no longer find any of these hubbies.

    Any info on either of these devices, or suggestions of better alternative methods, would be much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Why not simply disable all access with your firewall?
     
  3. Jay_JWLH

    Jay_JWLH

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Or disabling the network connection under Network Connections.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    If you still prefer a mechanical on-off switch instead of the previous software solutions, an A-B switch like the one in the following link could work. Just leave the A or B input open and it becomes the off position of the switch. The specifications do not list a contact life.

    http://www.cyberguys.com/product-details/?productid=165
     
  5. ottabear

    ottabear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Not as small a switching device as I hoped for and therefore a somewhat klutzy solution, but it would do the job I want. Thanks for including the link, but I think I can get one locally as well.

    Meanwhile, if anyone else has additional ideas..........
     
  6. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    Go to network connections, right click on the network adapter in use, create shortcut and put it on your desktop.

    From then on, right click desktop icon and choose disable or right click on shortcut and choose enable. Done.
     
  7. ottabear

    ottabear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    :) Thanks for an easy and elegant implementation of the software disconnect, but its drawback is that it also closes my local net among two computers as well as shutting down the Internet connection. Crazy or not, I want a physical disconnect of the Ethernet cable only between my router and the cable modem. And subject to any better suggestions which might come in, the Ethernet A-B switch box looks like the best idea.
     
  8. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    This is what you said in your first post without mention of a network, router or need to stay connected to other computers, so I took that as the problem. Indeed cutting the connection between router and cable modem poses a little different senario.

    To do that, I set up a I.P. adress shorcut that takes me to the sign in page of the router, I sign in and then disconnect the WAN...but by that time you could just as easily have reached over and hit the A-B box.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/830773