Ethernet or Wireless Connection, but no Internet Access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gelfbeard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
3
I have had my HP laptop for 2.5 years now, originally bought with Vista 64 bit. It now has Windows 7. Up until now, internet access and connectivity have been working fine. But, all of the sudden today, I couldn't get Internet Access despite trying both an ethernet port and a wireless connection (connectivity was working.) I know it's something with the laptop, because my ASUS netbook has no problem accessing the internet. I've tried looking around at some of these tech support sites and haven't really found anything that's worked for me. I've tried using CCleaner to remove any temp files and clean the registry, and resetting internet settings in the command box, but still I get nothing.
 

daz1

Banned
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
2,664
first job is have you turned it off by a switch by accident? activated flight mode for example? if no and no then second port of call is system restore
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
A System Restore to before the problem began is a good step and/or you can try ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

gelfbeard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
3
Thanks a lot. I did all you said, although the third command didn't work. After rebooting, there was no difference, but after a few minutes, after McCaffee scanned for protection status, I was able to work online.
 

gelfbeard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
3
Oh, I thought it was solved, but apparently not. After I got internet access back, I allowed McAffee to update, because some of the components were not working right after the system restore. After that I lost my access again. So, assuming it was McAffee all along, I uninstalled it and got access back again. I also uninstalled Firefox in case some add-on was causing problems. Everything was working fine for a few hours with Google Chrome, Super Anti-Spyware, and AVG newly installed. Then, again, I lost internet access. Do I have a virus or something?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
One possibility is that you may still have (some of) McAfee. Use the Removal Tool. Good to run those stack repairs again afterwards.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top