1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet ports in rooms not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by royalfrycook, Aug 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. royalfrycook

    royalfrycook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, we've just moved into an apartment and have realized the two ethernet ports in each of our bedrooms aren't working. We contacted our real estate agency, who first told us to "buy a new one", but after some further explanation told us they would get back to us tomorrow on whether it is our problem or theirs. So, in the meantime, I was hoping you guys could offer any help or explanations or things to explore so that we can fix it on our own.

    I looked around the internet and found that there is usually a central hub where these wires come together behind a panel somewhere. I've checked all the bedroom closets but didn't see anything. There is another closet with the hot water heater and something else but I didn't see any wall panels. There is another large panel in the wall by the laundry room with the air filter, and above that are a few electric charts and labels that cover something but it says it is dangerous to remove with the power on. There is another closet on our balcony with a cable box inside, but it is locked with a termination lock.

    We have cable internet though Northland if that matters.
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Hello, sorry but I have to ask: Did you contact Northland to find out if they have service at your new apartment building? Also your real estate agents need to find out for your where is the patch panel that your Ethernet ports are connected to. Now you may or may not be able to connect your original Gateway to the patch panel, so you will need to give Northland tech support a call an they should be able to help you.


    The Cleaver
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    While the jacks may be there, they need to be connected to switch or a router at another location, those do not have to be supplied by the apartment and may be your responsibility to supply and configure but that depends on how the services are setup. Does the apartment supply the internet for you or do you pay for that yourself?

    If the patch panel where all the jacks go to is in that locked room you will need to contact the apartment super or manager to get access to it and plug in the individual room jacks into the router.
     
  4. royalfrycook

    royalfrycook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    We have service, the Northland guy installed the modem himself (though we could have just done it..) We had to order service ourselves so it is in our name and doesnt involve the real estate agency.

    They said they will call Friday, so I will ask where the patch panel is and if I can access it myself, if they end up making us do it ourselves..
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    Most likely they will as the ISP is only responsible to supply a working internet connection and not so much any internal networking unless they are contracted to do so.
     
  6. royalfrycook

    royalfrycook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    @Triple6 I mean the real estate agency for the ethernet wiring, still no call yet
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,189
    First Name:
    Terry
    What's connected to the modem--a router? What is connected to whatever is connected to the modem?
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    I recently moved into a house, but before that I lived in an apartment where each bedroom had Ethernet drops.

    These drops ran to a patch panel in a box in the laundry room.

    I would check your rooms again and make that you don't see anywhere that they could be going to.
     
  9. royalfrycook

    royalfrycook Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    @TerryNet the modem is connected to the cable outlet in the living room, it looks like what you'd plug a coaxial cable into. The router is connected to the modem
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16,119
    First Name:
    Liz
    Until you connect the router to the ethernet ports in the various rooms, I can't see a way that those ethernet jacks could possibly function.

    You are sure they are ethernet jacks and not phone jacks?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,189
    First Name:
    Terry
    OK, so the next question, as plodr implied: what is connected to the router? Seeing if we can trace from modem to router to (maybe switches to) ethernet jacks.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1131595

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice