1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet Speed is suddenly way slower than wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mamalisa, Jul 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Hello. I have wi fi in my home that is running fine. My phone etc is getting about 13 mbps for downloading and 1.4 for uploading which is normal for me. My desktop however had a virus issue and I had to take it to be repaired. It is repaired and I brought it home and hooked it up EXACTLY as it was before I took it to be repaired. It is hardwired directly to modem but it is only getting about 2 mbps downloading and .44 uploading. I called my internet provider and they tried to help but said everything looks good on their end and that it was a computer issue. The shop that repaired it is closed today and I am in the middle of a deadline and I NEED this fixed. it is an ACER computer so I called their helpline but because it is out of warranty they wanted me to pay $100 for them to tell me how to fix it. He suggested it was a setting on the computer that needed changed but I have been looking for HOURS and can not find the solution...PLEASE HELP!!!
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,047
    Well it could be that the clean up for the virus issue removed some of the files that were being used.

    You might check for new networking drivers.

    Also what AV program are you now using?
     
  4. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    They installed Microsoft security essentials?? I know nothing about it.
     
  5. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    My internet provider said the signal is strong and that the computer must be limiting it. I shut my firewall off just long enough to rerun speed test... same results.
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,047
    Then I would say that you need the network drivers updated.
     
  7. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    ok....how do I do that?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,359
    Microsoft Security Essentials is not likely causing any problem.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    Assuming you have Vista or later ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    I am running Windows Vista
     
  10. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    ok. I did that. It did its thing....but no change. Still 2.13 mbps downloading.... ugh... other options?
     
  11. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    i do not know what firewall/ security suite was on the system....how do I check that?
     
  12. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    I have wi fi in my home that is running fine. My phone etc is getting about 13 mbps for downloading and 1.4 for uploading which is normal for me. My desktop however had a virus issue and I had to take it to be repaired. It is repaired and I brought it home and hooked it up EXACTLY as it was before I took it to be repaired. It is hardwired directly to modem but it is only getting about 2 mbps downloading and .44 uploading. I called my internet provider and they tried to help but said everything looks good on their end and that it was a computer issue. The shop that repaired it is closed today and I am in the middle of a deadline and I NEED this fixed. it is an ACER computer so I called their helpline but because it is out of warranty they wanted me to pay $100 for them to tell me how to fix it. He suggested it was a setting on the computer that needed changed but I have been looking for HOURS and can not find the solution...PLEASE HELP!!!
    :mad:
     
  13. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Upon this advice from Terry... I did all of the below actions....No change

    Microsoft Security Essentials is not likely causing any problem.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    Assuming you have Vista or later ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
    __________________
    Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer (since July 2010)
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,359
    If it's not still on there's little chance of finding out except by asking whoever had the PC before.

    In Device Manager right click on your ethernet and Uninstall the driver. Restart the system and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver (this is in case the installed instance is corrupted).
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,359
    I merged your threads here. Please do not start multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  16. mamalisa

    mamalisa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    i went to device manager but couldnt find anything that said ethernet....what would it be under?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1130394