1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ethernet stopped working!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Dynamix, Jun 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi guys..

    So I have run into a strange problem over the last 2 days..

    I suddenly (literally) cannot access the internet using ethernet on my desktop PC. I tried the same ethernet from the same port of the router into my laptop and it worked fine, so guessing it's an issue (HW or SW) with the ethernet settings or HW on the PC itself?

    How can I diagnose?

    I have attached a photo/screenshot of the ipconfig/all command..

    [​IMG]

    Any help much appreciated!

    D
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    ping 192.168.1.67 (or whatever your current IP address is)

    ping 192.168.1.254

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi,

    thansk for your quick reply..

    Below are the ping results that you suggested I do:
    Let me know your thoughts.

    the PC btw is a Dell Studio Hybrid.

    Again, I really appreciate the help so far.

    Regards,

    D
     
  4. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Also, below is a screenshot of my Device Manager box for the Ethernet controller... Showing all to be ok..

    [​IMG]

    It may also be worth noting that the LED light of the Ethernet port itself is orange as opposed to the usual yellowy/green...

    Thanks again in advance.

    D
     
  5. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Also,

    Here are the same ping results for the machine that is working on Ethernet (my laptop):

    Hopefully that might help you to help me diagnose this thing..

    Regards,

    D
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    The failure to successfully ping your own IP address indicates a non-Windows firewall or security suite that got mis-configured or corrupted or else a defective ethernet adapter.

    What, if any, non-Windows firewall or security suite do you have on the machine?
     
  7. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi,

    I noticed that I attempted to ping 192.158.1.67 instead of 192.168.67. So please find the amended below:
    Any ideas?

    I'm not running any firewall or anti-virus software to be honest...

    Thanks again,

    D
     
  8. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Also, in case it helps diagnose, here is a screenshot of my device manager box:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for all your continued help with this!
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I see something about a VPN in your Device Manager. Sometimes an installed VPN, even if not currently in use, can block networking the same way a firewall does.

    Since you can ping your own IP but not the router that is pointing to a firewall (or VPN) or a defective cable. You have checked the cable, but their defects can be tricky, so keep the cable in the back of your mind.
     
  10. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    I do not use any VPN activities on this particular desktop machine, so not sure why it is there?

    Can you please help me to identify it and let me know how to disable it?

    Also, isn't it odd that it was working one night, but not the next? I remember that night the PC crashed and I had to shut down by holding in the power button. I know that's not good to do, but there was no other way.. Could this be responsible?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I was referring to the "Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adaptor ..." and I know nothing about it. I assumed you must be using some Cisco VPN. If you have no program to uninstall then try deleting or disabling it in Device Manager.
     
  12. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Ahh.. I do use that,, I doin't think that would be the problem as it was installed about 6m months ago and not used since...

    It's impossibly annoying and so strange how it randomly ocurred.. I've been using this desktop machine and router/cable for 1 year with no problems at all.. No speed issues, no dropped connections, nothing..

    Then suddenly.. Kaput.
     
  13. Dynamix

    Dynamix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hey,..

    Strange news to report.. Today I turned my PC on and was presented with a Windows 7 "system restore" screen.. I clicked "OK" and let it run through the process for about 15 minutes.

    It then asked me to restart, and I did.

    Now the internet works!

    At least I can load webpages etc...

    HOWEVER, I cannot seem to get my Torrent client to work.. It won't download anything.. Which is strange.. Any ideas, or a separate thread?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Rules reminder:
    Maybe you'd rather just mark this one Solved. :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1000576

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice