1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Event Viewer - Event 1 has weird times in it

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by simr, Sep 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Hi, I have a strange thing going on with Event 1 in the Even Viewer.
    Event 1 signifies that the computer awoke from sleep (standby/hibernation), see attachment below for illustrations. It shows the time (circled in blue) which is also the time it shows in the list with all the other events, and that is the actual time the event occurred. But if you look on top of the box (circled in red) you see weird times listed over there, in fact at the time that the event take place (9:08 in this case) the times listed above didn't arrive yet. Why are those future times there, and how does the computer write something form the past into the future? I find that very strange. Do you perhaps know how that could happen?

    Thank you, I appreciate it!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,700
    Try this please
    1. Check time and date in BIOS and on taskbar change date and time settings - internet time - which time server are you synchronising with please
    2. Cmd prompt admin rights
    3/ in the Command Prompt window type: 'net stop w32time' and press Enter.
    4/ Next type: 'w32tm /unregister' hit Enter again
    5/ Now type: 'w32tm /register' and again hit Enter.
    6/ Now type: 'net start w32time' and hit Enter again.


    ALL cmds are typed without quotes

    8. Finally close the Command prompt window by typing exit
     
  3. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Thank you Macboatmaster!

    Not sure how to check the time in the BIOS. The sever is time.windows.com.
    Is there any particular reason you picked that way, as opposed to the standard clicking the X box on the top right?
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,124
    Please don't contradict the people who are trying to help you. They aren't obligated to give you several different methods to accomplish the same thing. All screens can be closed by clicking on the "X" but the proper way is using the exit command.
     
  5. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    A contradiction wasn't intended. In fact, right before you posted here, I was going to edit and change my line there to avoid a misunderstanding precisely that way you did, and I was going to change it to this: "Is there any particular reason you picked that way, as opposed to the standard clicking the X box on the top right?"

    In fact, I just did so no one gets insulted when no insult or slight was intended.

    Just curious as to why that is.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have no idea how much you are pushing your luck. :) And, please, do us both a favor and do not question that. Just trust me this time.

    I don't remember the first time I ever typed "exit" to leave a command or program, but it was at least a decade or two before I ever saw a "window." And without a window there is no "X" button or box. That's my answer, but it may also have to do with how early versions of Windows worked--perhaps then the "X" didn't really cause an exit from the Command prompt.
     
  7. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Cookiegal indicates it's the proper way though. I wonder why she thinks that.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,700
    More to the point does it appear the cmds have cured the problem
     
  9. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Didn't do it yet, since I didn't get a response to my answer of your step 1.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,700
    enter setup boot from first post screen - normally F2 or delete it will tell you on post screen
     
  11. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Sorry, I'm not familiar with the term "post screen".
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you familiar with doing web searches? If you were to search the web for "post screen" one of the hits would be this article describing Power-on self-test. It's the screen you see on a computer after power on and before an OS begins to boot.
     
  13. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    Sorry for my delay.

    It didn't show the time in F2, and delete did nothing.
    But I already wrote that in the Taskbar internet time is says time.windows.com, is that good enough for your step 1?

    Thank you very much!
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,700
    please click the internet time tab on the change date and time settings window
    then click the change settings button
    then using the presently chosen time.windows.com
    click Update now.
    I suspect it may report that it cannot synchronize
    I will be interested to hear what it does report
    Irrespective of the result of that - use the drop arrow - choose another time server and click update again
    it will now hopefully report that it has synchronised


    Then run the cmds in post 2
    then close the cmd window
    then reboot


    then in due course when the system resumes from sleep see if the record in event viewer is showing correct time.
     
  15. simr

    simr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    994
    It said: "An error occurred while Windows was synchronizing with time.windows.com." But the clock at the bottom right has the correct time.

    You know it just occurred to me, the times recorded are always exactly 4 hours ahead of my time zone, and that is the UTC time, perhaps the event viewer is recording it according to the UTC time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1133404

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice