Event Viewer shows errors

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JohnO28356

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
865
Windows XP. Event Viewer/System shows two errors at bootup (not shown at reboot). Errors are in Service Control Manager- Event: 7001 - User: N/A. Both the errors refer to Workstation Service failing to start. I looked up this 7001 error on Google, and it seems to refer to networking. I'm not on a network. I don't know how long the error has been taking place; just happened to notice it today while poking around in Administrative Tools. The computer seems to be booting okay, and it runs fine. Any ideas? Thanks.
 

JohnO28356

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
865
Hello, Cory. Thanks for the response. No network card, and I'm a country boy using what's available: Dialup (AT&T).
 
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
391
Is there an onboard ethernet card that's not disabled? It seems like a network card or some network setting is not properly configured or maybe it's set up for DHCP and not getting an IP address. Or... it could be something else. If your using dial up and this is the only error in event viewer, I'd just leave it alone. Sort of like the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" saying. I used to have some error that bugged me and I could never find out anything about it. But, that was Win.2000 and that was an older PC that I no longer have. Check and see if maybe you have some network components installed that is not necessary for a dial up modem.

Cory
 

JohnO28356

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
865
Hey, Cory-- I got rid of the error by following the Services advice on Black Viper.com. I disabled the networking services, and the error is gone away. The error wasn't slowing this thing down or anything, I just didn't like knowing it was there. Oh well, it's Windows--- something else will happen soon to bug me.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Before you Googled did you do this?


Did you click on the link under
"For more information see help and support at" ?

This starts help and support. There will be a User Action section with advice on how to proceed. Often links to KB articles are provided with possible solutions. It doesn't always happen, but it can be helpful.
 

JohnO28356

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2002
Messages
865
Hi Mosaic-- I had tried that, but there were no KB's etc available. But it very "helpfully" told me to contact my Sys Administrator.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Help and Support. Well, at least you found Black Viper. That is the best Services site I have found so far.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top