1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Every time I Open Up My Comp Or some Other Program the Screen goes blank

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kllswitch666, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Need help I can hardly Open any programs
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Welcome,

    When it goes blank how do you recover from it?

    Spme specs on your PC would be helpful Memory...
     
  3. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Well When It goes blank It just Comes back a minute later and what else did you want to know
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    what monitor do you have ....what Video Card do you have....

    How much memory is in the PC

    If you have the make and model of the PC that would help too.
     
  5. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Well i have a dell monitor and Video card is a nvidia geforce2 mx and i got 80 gb on my hard drive i dont know about the make but its a gateway Pentium 4
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Haven't given the memory installed

    You can see by pressing the Windows logo key + Pause Break key together and it is at the bottom MB of Ram
     
  7. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    512 Mb ram
     
  8. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Understood.....

    COuld you try the PC in Safe Mode and open what programs you can and see if the same thing happens and report back.

    1. Restart your computer.
    2. When the machine first starts again it will generally list some equipment that is installed in your machine, amount of memory, hard drives installed etc. At this point you should gently tap the F8 key repeatedly until you are presented with a Windows XP Advanced Options menu.
    3. Select the option for Safe Mode using the arrow keys.
    4. Then press enter on your keyboard to boot into Safe Mode.
    5. Do whatever tasks you require and when you are done reboot to boot back into normal mode.
     
  9. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    well i tried it and all the the programs work but when i got back on my normal one they still didn't work i don't know how to fix the problem
     
  10. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    I would check for an update driver for your Video Card first...if that doesn't work then you may have a process running that is causing problems.

    Before looking for a update driver try right clicking on a empty place on the desktop and choose Properties then in the new window Settings tab.....move the slider to the left and lower your resolution and see how it runs at a lower res.
     
  11. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  12. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    alright it got a little better now it just doesn't let me open (My Computer,Recycle Bin,Control Panel,etc) just the background stays and the rest goes away but it come back 10sec later.
     
  13. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Go back into safe mode and check to see that My Computer,Recycle Bin,Control Panel work or doesn't work on Safe mode.
     
  14. kllswitch666

    kllswitch666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    It works On Safe Mode But Not On The Normal Mode???
     
  15. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    I think it might be a problem with your video card did you download the driver for it from the link.

    As in Safemode it is only using the basic VGA ......

    you could try this first go to Device Manager

    To get to Device Manager click Start>>Run type devmgmt.msc click OK

    GO down the list for Display Adapters and click on the small + and expand then double click on your Video card and in the new window click on the Driver tab and un-install it and restart your PC....also make a note of any yellow warning signs in the list.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543486

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice