Everythihg seems LARGER!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RennyPen77

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
Hi all,

I just registered on this site, so very new to all of this. I have a problem which is driving me nuts, and I really need some help to fix it. I know it is something I hope is very simple to fix, but I can't figure it out!

I restarted my computer the other day after my 3 yo son was playing on it, and I think he has changed a setting by mistake. - Everything seems to appear "bigger"..... All my desktop icons seem a little larger, it is just very very strange.

Also, when I look at pictures in my folders, I open one, and it used to come up with some icons at the bottom of the picture to rotate the picture, or little blue arrows pointing left and right to go to the next picture etc. but they have gone too, and my pictures appear to be pixley.....:confused:

I have Windows XP but have no idea on how to get it back to what I would call "normal"...

Can someone please help me? I tried asking Microsoft but they were useless and said they couldn't help me for some reason!! :mad:

Thanks a heap
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
644
Hello and Welcome to TSG.. Right click an open area on your desktop and then click on 'properties'.. Click the Appearance Tab at the top and make sure the font size is set to normal at the bottom.. If it's set to large or extra large just click the small triangle to the right and highlight the word normal and Ok out. If that doesn't help reply with what type monitor (flat panel or CRT) you have and someone will help you set the correct resolution.
 

RennyPen77

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
Billy - Thank you for your help, but I did try that and it is set to normal, so it must be something else..... My monitor is just a normal computer monitor, not flat or anything special like that! - God, I sound like a real newbie don't I?

Spruce - How do I do system restore? That sounds like the option I need to fix it.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
233
Go to start,programs,accessories system tools click on system restore.
Select a date before your problem started, cl. ok
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
I wouldn't do a system restore, that can change settings and programs and I like to save it for last.

Right-click on your desktop and click Properties.
Click the Settings tab.
Change the Screen Resolution to a higher number.
Click OK.
 

RennyPen77

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
I just did the system restore before reading the other posts, and guess what? IT WORKED!! :D :D :D

Thank you all so much for your advice. I really appreciate it.

Another question now: How do I "kid proof" my computer? My 3 yo son knows how to get onto the Wiggles website to play games, and I am scared he may do something to the computer that may be harmful by mistake. Is there a keypad lock or anything like that?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top