1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

EVERYTHING constantly refreshes

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by morneau33hr, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. morneau33hr

    morneau33hr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    For a while, I have been working on my wife's Windows 7 notebook and this thing is giving me complete hell. After a while, everything you open on it starts to refresh over and over again and is impossible to use. Not just internet browsers either, anything. I have done everything I can possibly think of to fix. I have ran anti-virus, anti-spyware, registry fixes, combofix, system repair, and even most recently deleted the partition in which W7 was installed and reinstalled it. I have tried running it without the DVD drive in it, still trash. The only thing I havent done is delete the system (199 MB) partition and the recovery partition and tried to run it without those. I really dont know of anything I can try now. This is honestly the first time I have run across a PC that I cant figure out like this. Any kind of help would be incredible.

    Thanks

    Dan
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Hello Dan & Welcome to TechGuy.org

    Please provide:
    the brand, model & model # of the laptop
    the results of this forum's system information utility
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links


    When did the computer last work well? When did the problem begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

    What changed; a hardware or software installation or removal; an update to W7 [ check your W7 update history ] or update to your anti malware or other antimalware program / programs ]; an update to Java or an Adobe program for example?

    1st troubleshooting step
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/69585-safe-mode.html
    Boot to safe mode.
    Test.
    Report the results.

    For internet issues, boot to safe mode with networking.
    Some wi fi connections will not function in s m w/ n.

    RF123
     
  3. morneau33hr

    morneau33hr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Its a little over 2 years after purchase, and its a HP G60-590DX. The problem started in mid-december, I dont know the exact date. It has never done it in safe mode, but I have not used it that much in safe mode and it doesnt always do it. It can go an hour or so without doing it, but once it starts, the flood gates are open. Nothing changed as far as I know, I know no hardware was installed, and if it was software I would imagine a complete wipe and reinstall would have fixed it right?
     
  4. morneau33hr

    morneau33hr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    UPDATE: The problem has just occurred in safe mode for the first time. Not good.
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    I agree that it is not good, but it tells us a lot.

    I do not see the information I requested, and answers to the questions I posted, #2. Until that information is posted, I will only be able to provide general advice.

    NOPE! Please read further.

    I recommend the following:
    Backup all of your important data.

    If a problem happens in safe mode, it is caused by [ not in order of frequency ]:
    1. Hardware issue
    2. Windows is broken
    3. Malware



    Hardware:
    Run diags for the RAM & HDD [ hard disk drive ]

    You will need to download a file, probably in .iso format
    Here are some HDD manufacturers & diags.
    edit
    OOPS! I forgot the link.
    http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

    end edit


    Check with the laptop manufacturer for diagnostic tests.

    RAM
    Create a bootable disk for Memtest86+
    Home page for Memtest86+
    http://www.memtest.org/
    Download .iso at http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
    Run it for at least 8 hours, or until an error appears.

    You will need a non Windows program to create a bootable disk from an .iso file.

    I use Roxio & Nero. I've read about a free program called IMGBURN , but not used it.
    http://www.imgburn.com/

    Here's a tutorial for Memtest86
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaHL9usaM4Q

    Windows is broken
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/681-startup-repair.html

    Run chkdsk / r from the repair options
    Open the command prompt
    type: c:
    press enter
    type: chkdsk /r
    press enter

    Reboot & try to boot into Windows, normal mode & safe mode.

    If you are unable to boot into Windows, boot to the repair options,
    Run sfc /scannow from the repair options
    Reboot
    Open the command prompt
    type: c:
    press enter
    type: sfc /scannow
    press enter

    Take notes. Use a camera if available. Provide the resutls in a reply to this thread.

    Reboot & try to boot into Windows, normal mode & safe mode.

    If you are unable to boot into Windows, boot to the repair options,

    Perform a repair from the repair environment
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/681-startup-repair.html

    Please post files, as attachments.
    W7 has a utility called the Snipping Tool, but it won't work at the repair environment.

    Use W7's snipping tool, or follow the instructions, below
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Use-Snipping-Tool-to-capture-screen-shots

    or
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    screenshot

    On your keyboard, look for a key labeled "print screen" OR "PrtSc" OR "PRN SCN" or some variation.
    When you want to capture that which is displayed, press the print screen button.
    Open Paint [ start > programs / all programs > accessories > paint [ rarely MS Paint]
    Maximize Paint
    left click "edit"
    Left click "paste"
    file > save as.
    Save the file to any location of your choice.
    File name: your choice, for example: "filename"
    save as type: left click down pointing arrow. Left click jpg / jpeg
    Left click "save" / "ok".

    The file name has now been saved as filename.jpg [ or filename.jpeg ].


    Return to the thread.
    Left click "go advanced".

    Left click "manage attachments"
    left click "browse"
    browse to the location, on your computer, where you saved "filename.jpg"
    Left click filename.jpg
    left click "open"
    left click Upload"
    close window of upload screen after the file has been uploaded.

    enter text into the reply area.
    left click "submit"


    If there is information on the screen that you don't want to display, you can use the eraser [ looks like a bar of soap, left column, 2nd from the top. You can remove large areas by clicking on the dotted outline column button, top, right column, then drag your mouse while holding down left mouse button ] to surround that which you don't want displayed. Then, press "delete" on your keyboard. Then save.


    Malware
    Involve the malware experts

    A reformat will not remove a type of malware called a rootkit.

    Keep us posted.

    Best of success.

    RF123
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090976

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice