1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Everything freezes for 2-5min, sometimes recovers. More or less randomly

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Ghosttoast, May 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
  2. Ghosttoast

    Ghosttoast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry for beeing annoying, but I only find some plans and measurements/blueprints.. I neither find which card I got, nor something related to download (except mentionned blueprints). :(
     
  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    From your screenshots post # 13
    'Video hardware caused Windows to stop working'

    Run the scan and check for updated drivers.
    http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/AMDSupportHub.aspx

    Run a Mem Test.
    http://www.memtest86.com/download.html
    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

    Download the ISO file from one of the links above to your desktop.
    Then burn the ISO to a Cd.
    Start the Pc using the Cd and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.

    It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
    Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram and test each Ram stick one at a time.

    Guide to using Memtest86+
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic207910.html
    -----
    You can also run the Mem test from a USB stick
    http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
    Download -Auto-installer for USB Key (Win 9x/2k/xp/7) *NEW!*
     
  4. Ghosttoast

    Ghosttoast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I updated AMD driver after a long fight :p. Was hard to find, since all those automated installprograms did not work on VAIOs.


    I couldn't find the option to boot it from an USB stick, but it offered me a memorycheck. I ran it on the "deepest" setting and after ~15h it told me that my memory has no errors.

    I need to update the Ricoh driver somehow, but it always gives me this message
     

    Attached Files:

    • why.png
      why.png
      File size:
      20.1 KB
      Views:
      47
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
  6. Ghosttoast

    Ghosttoast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    It didn't help. The problem still occurs. :(
    Haven't seen the bluescreen for a long time, but the freeze is still there. I downloaded a new game, and while playing (max GB ram) couldn't finish a game since it froze every 20min, then every 5min, and after hours trying to finish a game every 2min. The event manager doesn't show anything before the freeze. It just happens.

    I have no idea what it could be :(

    Do you think a reinstallation of win7 would help? And if yes, which one? A completely clean install or the "update" which leaves me all my programs and files? Of course the "update" is easier, and to prefer, since it will leave me all my data and programs. But if it wouldn't solve my problem, I'll have to do the clean installation :(
    __
    EDIT:

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticle...TIKMDAGhasstoppedrespondingerrormessages.aspx
    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/TroubleshootingGameIssues.aspx#GamePatches

    What is written there completely matches my issue.
    What is overclocking? Could overheating be the problem? (except these 2 I checked all of the points from the 1st link)
    Motherboard update?

    ___
    EDIT2:
    Just got a new bluescreen. Here the dump from BlueScreenView and the zipped original dumpfile.
    It happended exactly when I ran the CPUID to check the temperature. And the Avira Filewalker was checking windows files I think. The scan was at 99.9%, almost finished. I don't know because of what it happened. :S

    __
    EDIT3:
    And here we go again, another BSOD after 1sec of looking at my temps with CPUID. zipped the BlueScreenView and the original minidump in the attached "dump762" file.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    You have also posted your question starting 6 days ago on the Windows7forum and including today, you are up to 15 posts there.
    While you obviously want help with your problem, posting on more than one forum is unfair to all that are trying to help you.

    8 hours ago on the Window7forum you posted information that you have not stated here.
    Quote.
    'Ok, I updated the SEPF driver, and renamed the Ricoh MS to . OLD'

    Posting on more than one forum is confusing to all and as said, it is unfair to those trying to help you.
    My suggestion is that you continue posting on the Windows7forum, as they have offered some good suggestions and possible solutions.
     
  8. Ghosttoast

    Ghosttoast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I do not think that it is unfair, since I am trying out as many ideas as possible. I even tried to call the VAIO support, to get the really newest Ricoh driver, but the one they made me download was the same old driver as the others I tested out. The more heads think about a problem, the faster it will probably get solved. If I offended you in some way, then excuse me. And if you are not going to answer my questions anymore or trying to help me, then I indeed will have to move over to win7f. Thank you for your help.
     
  9. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067
    I am not offended in anyway.
    But you have to understand that we do not know all the answers to the questions posted here.
    We too research the net in trying to find the right answers.

    If helpers on more than one forum are suggesting answers but we have no idea what you have tried and what works or not.
    Then we are all spending our time researching the same answer, when on the other forum you have already tried that and it did not work.
    Sounds confusing, because it is.
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,508
    heyya ghosttoast, it's technically not unfair, but it's a royal pain the butt. Especially if someone else had told you to try something based on what you said on that site, whereas you never let the people on the other site know that fact. sorta dangerous, too........I mean, imagine playing two doctors against each other, and every time you visit them, something else has changed.......:)

    Best thing to do is to pick one and go with it.......I've known blues_harp for quite some time now, and I'll toss my lot in with him, but you are certainly free to choose which site would help you the most.....

    thanks,

    v
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1055251