1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Excel 2003 macro: log contents of selected cell, clear cell

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by raydancer, Apr 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raydancer

raydancer Thread Starter

I'm attempting to write my first macro for an Excel 2003 workbook. I'm not completely code illiterate (I've got moderate skills with AutoLISP), but I'm new to VBA and am not yet an Excel power user, so please be gentle.

The macro I want to write will:

• check that the selected cell's content is underlined before proceeding
    • copy the content of the currently selected cell into an external plain text .log file
    • .log file lines should be: year/month/day - time - username - cell contents
    • .log file names will probably need to be generated
    • clear the cell's content and formatting (particularly underline and text/background color)
    Here's what I have so far:

Code:
    Sub Unpost()
    If Selection.Font.Underline = True
        Then Selection.ClearFormats And Selection.Clearcontents
        Else
            If MsgBox("The selected cell is not underlined...are you sure?", vbOkCancel) = vbOk
                Then Selection.ClearFormats And Selection.Clearcontents
                Else Exit Sub
            End If
    End If
    End Sub