1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Excel 2007 Functions

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by tjm17, Jan 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tjm17

    tjm17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    In Excel 2007, I'm trying to do the following:

    If I enter the word "Fox" in A1, then the value of "$100.00" entered into B1 will be copied to the "Fox" Tab in the same workbook in cell C6. Any help would be appreciated. :confused:(n)(n)(n)
     
  2. turbodante

    turbodante

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Hi tjm17. Welcome to the forum. Can you use the 'if' formula to do this?
     
  3. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    In C6 of the Fox worksheet, put this formula:

    =IF(Sheet1!A1="fox",Sheet1!B1)

    This is assuming that the sheet where "fox" might appear is called Sheet1. If it doesn't say "fox", and you want the value returned to be zero, then:

    =IF(Sheet1!A1="fox",Sheet1!B1,0)

    So the syntax is:

    IF(this is true,give me this,otherwise give me this)
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
  5. tjm17

    tjm17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the reply Anne. I probably didn't type out the senerio clearly or I'm not understanding. The info that I would enter into A1 and B1 is on say "Sheet1", I then need the info BI to be tranfered to C6 in the tab title that matched what I enterd on "Sheet1" in cell A1.
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Okay. Formulas don't "transfer" information or data. The formula MUST be in the cell in which you want the result to appear. Otherwise, you're talking VBA/macro code being required.

    Also, you indicated that B1 would have $100 in it, not a sheet name. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/793638

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice