Excel 2010 - Trouble with Printing Proper Page Orientation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
I'm not well-versed in Excel and know only the basics. So I created a document that's simply one column of figures and beside each figure is a wider column with the description (I merged several empty columns to get the proper size I needed).

Unfortunately, I can't attach a sample as it's sensitive data and I wouldn't be able to recreate the issue.

I suspect it's something to do with the width because initially it wanted to print on two pages so I grabbed the line at the top where the column numbers are (A, B, C,) and dragged it to narrow it down and it's now ony one page. But from the beginning, before doing that, it looks fine on my screen (one page, 8-1/2 x 11 portrait) and also shows that way when I first click on Print but then when I get the final preview it's very small and on landscape view. If I go ahead with the printing it prints that way (very small and in landscape view).

I know it's not much to go on but if anyone has any ideas what might be the problem I'd like to try them.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4670 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 7986 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 917 GB (842 GB Free);
Motherboard: LENOVO, SHARKBAY
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
Thanks Malcolm but it didn't change anything. I appreciate the suggestion.

Since it's a simple document I decided to just copy it to Word and use that. They asked for it in Excel but there's really no difference in the way it looks so it should be fine.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
No problem. I'm sure it was something I did but of course couldn't figure out what. I tried recopying it to a new worksheet but that had the same problem. I could have retyped it in a new document to see if it worked but didn't feel like doing that. :)
 

Chawbacon

Jack
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
565
Hey there Cookiegal,

I would check the "Print To" settings (speaking from experience on this one). Anything other than the number "1" for either of these values can change your print display. Access the setting by selecting "Page Layout" on the ribbon, click on "Print Titles", and then choose the "Page" tab.

In my case, even though I had the automatic setting chosen, Excel was still grabbing the grayed out 1-to-3 criteria values. Once I set these back to 1-to-1 and re-selected the automatic setting, printing returned to normal for that spreadsheet.

I hope this helps.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
Thanks chawbacon. I'm on the "Page" tab but I don't see anything that says "print to" there. There's "Orientation", "Scaling", "Paper Size", "Print Quality" and "First Page Number".
 

Chawbacon

Jack
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
565
Hmmm... That radio button should under "Scaling" and right below the "Adjust To" radio button.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
I thought I smelled something....... :D

Sorry but that didn't work either.
 

Chawbacon

Jack
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
565
Well, that was my shot a brilliance. :(
Perhaps you need to redefine the print area for the spreadsheet... otherwise, I am pretty stumped on this one.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,152
I thought perhaps redefine too. But I'm leaving it for now and just transferred the data to Word. If I have time eventually I might play around with it some more. If I find the solution I will post it here.

But thank you for your attempt on my mybehalf. I appreciate it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top