excel, again!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ckaas

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
133
wow, i'm really getting hooked on excel! i do need however a bit more help. i have a cell:

=(C2)&(D2)

where C2 and D2 are two text values. what i would like would be to be able to have C2 and D2 on different lines, in the same cell, so that it woul look like:

C2
D2

How can i do this? cheers,

Christian K.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
763
I don't know how to force a hard return -- and would like to know, but here's a band-aid fix for what you are trying to accomplish:

Use the formula =C2&" "&D2 as this will put a space between your two pieces of information. Then, you can use (cell alignment) Wrap Text along with minimal column width to see D2 display under C2.

If there is a way to program a hard return between the " " in the above formula, you'll have just what you want :) (and won't have to worry about wrapping text or column width).
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
=C2&char(10)&D2

You'll need Wrap Text turned on (Format -- Cells -- Alignment).

Rgds,
Andy
 
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
743
Good evening XLG;

What is the logic behind wrapping with a CHAR(10) (why does it do dat?) - and why is the null character displayed for CHAR10 when it is not wrapped yet not displayed once you wrap the text ?




by the by.... a rather neat way to achieve the results without dependency on column width.
"I am learnt something today!"


;)

-Castleheart
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
>> (why does it do dat?)

Couldn't say CH ; if I looked it up I'd probably get some arcane techie answer along the lines of "Char(13) is the ANSI (American National Standards Institute) character code for a linefeed", then my head would hurt. However, this may be of interest ...

... y'all know ALT+0188 = ¼ ? Try

=CHAR(ROW())

in a top-row cell & drag down to R255. The row # preceded by a zero or two = your ALT codes.

Rgds,
Andy
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
Cheers MrW, feedback from a compatriot is especially appreciated. <bg>

At the risk of being slapped for threadbusting, re: your marginless printing query ; I've a new photoprinter that allegedly prints "borderless". Inserting a table in a Word doc then setting the margins to zero all round still gives a couple of mm gap down the left, a couple more down the right, and a fair gap at the bottom. You'd probably need a huge spec m/c to do it perfectly -- a print bureau perhaps?

Rgds,
Andy
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
377
hmmm.... "huge spec m/c", you say?

Looking at the machine i'm using, what harm can a little bit of white space around the edge do anyway!!!!!

Thanks again Andy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top