excel and notepad

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Taddy1881

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2015
Messages
4
Hope someone can help, please ...
After downloading an excel spreadsheet, it opens in 'notepad' and is just a load of garbled rubbish ! Never used to happen so I'm assuming some setting or another has been changed. Any tips ? thanks
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,277
Do you have Excel(part of Microsoft Office) or the free Excel Viewer in your computer?

Does that downloaded spreadsheet file have a .xls or .xlsx or some other extension?

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,277
If you right-click on that .xls document and then left-click "Open With - -" from the menu and then select Excel from the list of default programs, it should open and view correctly.

---------------------------------------------------------
 

Taddy1881

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2015
Messages
4
It doesn't give me an option to 'open with' only 'open' and then it opens in notepad. Initially when I choose to export the data the excel icon says 'tab-delimited format' ... is that the problem ??
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,277
Go into the Start menu or Control Panel and open the Default Programs window.

Click on "Associate a file type or protocol with a program".

After it finishes loading, scroll down to the .xls extension.

Click on and highlight it, and then click "Change program".

When the Open With window appears, select the Excel app from the list.

Make sure that "Always use the selected program to open this type of file" is checked, then click "OK".

That should work.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

Taddy1881

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2015
Messages
4
Brilliant ! thank you.
It wouldn't let me 'check' the box for 'always use etc ' but I've managed to get my spreadsheet ... thank you SO much x
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top