1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Excel Error Message Help

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by ariffinaldo, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ariffinaldo

    ariffinaldo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi all, I am Ariffin and i am from Singapore. I have a problem with Excel 2007 and i found your this forum to be very helpful. I hope i can get some help in here. :)

    I have an excel workbook that is used in my company and it has many macros ( buttons, etc..). It worked fine till i had to re format my PC.

    Now when i open the same file i get this error " Cannot run the macro "filename.xls". The macro may not be available in this workbook or all macros may be disabled."

    I have enabled all macros in the developer tab but i am still getting this error. Microsoft help file is not really helpful. What steps am i missing here.

    Further information, this file is on a network shared folder and all other PCs is able to open it without any problem except for mine.
     
  2. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    It seems you are not enabling macros in the right place. The instructions given in the link below make no mention of the Developer tab, so presumably that's only for when you are creating macros. Follow instructions here to enable existing macros: http://www.mdmproofing.com/iym/macros/index.html#excel2007
     
  3. ariffinaldo

    ariffinaldo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you pip22.. Gonna try that in office later.. Will update soon..
     
  4. ariffinaldo

    ariffinaldo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi there, I am using Microsoft SP3 actually and i am still facing the problem. I have tried the registry workaround method recommended by Microsoft even though i was warned that it should not be done for SP 2 and above. I am at a total loss. Is there anything else that i can do. Any help will be appreciated.
     
  5. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
  6. ariffinaldo

    ariffinaldo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I have already done that part actually previously. Nonetheless i tried one more time to the specific folder, but the macro still fails to open and i am still recieving the same error message. The same file can be opened from another colleague's PC. So there is no actual problem with the excel. Just in my PC. I am running Norton 360 if that helps. I have also tried disabling all AV but to no avail.
     
  7. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,447
    Hi there, welcome to the board!

    What workbook does it say the workbooks are in? Sounds like you're clicking buttons that have code linked to another workbook. If it was in, say, a Personal.xls workbook, and if you also didn't save the workbook, chances are pretty good the workbook, and the code along with it, are gone. If it works on others machines, maybe you could see what workbooks the code is referring to. Or you could tell us what the error message says exactly.

    As a side note, if using code in other "home cooked" projects you should enable access to the VBAProject object model. If you look in the link pip22 posted and look at step 4, you will see the checkbox at the bottom of that picture. You should check that box as well.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064259