1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Excel multicolumn list in form combo box

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by codeconfusion, Oct 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. codeconfusion

codeconfusion Thread Starter

Hi, I am very new to Excel userforms and code writing. My userform combo box drop down list gets its data from a single column dynamic range in a worksheet data table. But I need the combobox list to be displayed in seven columns, i.e. item#1 = row 0, column 0; item#2 = row 0, column 2; etc. Can you help me out with the Userform1 Initialize code to set this up, please.
    Cheers, codeconfusion

2. bomb #21

bomb #21

You can't have columns in a combobox. For that, you'd need a listbox.

Then you could set the listbox RowSource property to your dynamic (named, presumably) range*, and the ColumnCount property to (in your case) 7.

Welcome to the board, HTH. :)

*purists would say you should preferably use the .AddItem method during Initialize. If you want that instead, post back; I have code somewhere I could dig out for .AddItem where range columns >1.

3. codeconfusion

Thanks for your reply, Are you sure that I cannot have multiple columns. The properties window gives me the option of having ColumnCount for a combo box. Help (F1) tells me I can have more than one column in a ListBox or a ComboBox. Am I reading things wrongly? Also I downloaded some code like this:

Private Sub UserForm_Initialize()

With cboSelectDate
    cboSelectDate.ColumnCount = 7

cboSelectDate.List(0, 0) = "Row 1, Col 1"
    cboSelectDate.List(1, 0) = "Row 1, Col 2"
    cboSelectDate.List(2, 0) = "Row 1, Col 3"
    cboSelectDate.List(3, 0) = "Row 1, Col 4"
    cboSelectDate.List(4, 0) = "Row 1, Col 5"
    cboSelectDate.List(5, 0) = "Row 1, Col 6"