Excel multicolumn list in form combo box

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

codeconfusion

Hi, I am very new to Excel userforms and code writing. My userform combo box drop down list gets its data from a single column dynamic range in a worksheet data table. But I need the combobox list to be displayed in seven columns, i.e. item#1 = row 0, column 0; item#2 = row 0, column 2; etc. Can you help me out with the Userform1 Initialize code to set this up, please.
Cheers, codeconfusion

You can't have columns in a combobox. For that, you'd need a listbox.

Then you could set the listbox RowSource property to your dynamic (named, presumably) range*, and the ColumnCount property to (in your case) 7.

Welcome to the board, HTH. :)

*purists would say you should preferably use the .AddItem method during Initialize. If you want that instead, post back; I have code somewhere I could dig out for .AddItem where range columns >1.

codeconfusion

Thanks for your reply, Are you sure that I cannot have multiple columns. The properties window gives me the option of having ColumnCount for a combo box. Help (F1) tells me I can have more than one column in a ListBox or a ComboBox. Am I reading things wrongly? Also I downloaded some code like this:

Private Sub UserForm_Initialize()

With cboSelectDate
cboSelectDate.ColumnCount = 7

cboSelectDate.List(0, 0) = "Row 1, Col 1"
cboSelectDate.List(1, 0) = "Row 1, Col 2"
cboSelectDate.List(2, 0) = "Row 1, Col 3"
cboSelectDate.List(3, 0) = "Row 1, Col 4"
cboSelectDate.List(4, 0) = "Row 1, Col 5"
cboSelectDate.List(5, 0) = "Row 1, Col 6"
cboSelectDate.List(6, 0) = "Row 1, Col 7"

End With
cboSelectDate.TextColumn = 1

End Sub

But it is not working for me. Run time error #70. I really do want a combo box for this form.

OK, so you can have multi-column combos. But: