1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

excel problem

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by sentme_mail, Jan 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sentme_mail

    sentme_mail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    hi,
    i have a being using an excel file in excel97 whereby i can press "ctrl A" and it will do some calculations for me.
    But now it doesn't work in excel 2000.
    any help?
    thanks
     
  2. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Hi there -

    You've typed a function name into the cell first?
     
  3. sentme_mail

    sentme_mail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    whats function name ??
     
  4. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Microsoft's web site on Excel 2000:

    "Ctrl-A - "When you enter a formula, display the Formula Palette after you type a function name".

    Probably the easiest way to explain it is when you are in Excel 2000, click your Help and type in <b>formula palette function name</b> then click the "About using the Formula Palette to enter and edit functions".

    It explains what ya need to do pretty well.

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  5. sentme_mail

    sentme_mail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    whenever i open the file, it pops up an error box saying:
    Run-time error '28':
    out of stack space.
    i have an option to click "end" or "debug"
    when i click on debug it opens MS visual basic and shows:
    Private Sub Worksheet_Calculate()
    RefreshFormula
    End Sub

    any idea?
     
  6. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    Take a look <a href="http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;266156">here</a>.

    If that doesn't pertain, then try <a href="http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;264658">this one</a>.

    Hope these help! :)
     
  7. sentme_mail

    sentme_mail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    200
  8. Yankee Rose

    Yankee Rose

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Messages:
    1,861
    OK .... I'll back up a bit. :)

    This error is occurring only in one particular Excel file you are trying to open, correct?

    I am assuming this is a file that someone else created, and you are trying to open it, never having opened it before?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115066

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice