Excel Quandry

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Warthog1

Steve
Here's one of life's great mysteries (to me anyway). I'm a novice Excel user, but I'm trying to populate a workbook provided to me as part of a project. New Entries or modifications on the setup page are supposed to flow through other related pages in the worksheet but they don't. I enter new data, click update and nothing transfers. There are a number of us working the same project having the same problem.

Here's the kicker--my colleague, two desks over, has taken the workbook I sent him and successfully entered data which transferred so formulas, etc are obviously OK. Our Excel versions and IT setups are identical and Excel settings (macro security, etc) seem to be ok as well. We've gone through the process and he's not doing anything different from me.

To further baffle me--if he makes amendments and sends the file back to me, then I can make amendments as well!! But if I open the file from scratch, I'm back to square one.

I'm hesitant to forward the working file he's sent me to other colleagues as I still don't understand what's not working and would like to know I'm providing a good platform for the work.

Can anyone unravel the mystery for me?

"click update" suggests there's a control (button) somewhere that's supposed to run code (a macro).

Very difficult to say without seeing the code. As a complete guess, it could be down to your calculation settings (Tools -- Options) not being "Automatic" ... somehow. :confused:

OBP

Taking bomb's point, can you post the code or a blank zipped copy of the workbook on here?

Warthog1

Steve
Bomb, I think you've cracked it!