Excel Send To Command

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
Hello,

I am using Windows XP and Office 97 SR-2. When I open up Excel, I don't have the 'Send To' Command. I have tried to add it through Tools>Customize>Commands. I add the 'Send To' command under FILE, but when I click on 'Send To'>Mail Receipient, nothing happens. What gives? Thank you.

Andrew
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
When something's not right, online Help is usually a good start.

"Make sure Mapi32.dll is in the Windows System folder"

(IAF, mine's in system32).

Post back if still stuck.

Rgds,
Andy
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
Its in there. I've checked already from the wizard. Thats why i'm here. =) thank you for the quick reply though.


Still stuck

Andy
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
We are using Lotus Notes and it works on my computer for some odd reason but on this machine and others it doesn't.

Andy
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
377
Have you tried right-clicking on the toolbar and selecting customize?

On the commands tab, you should find a Send To icon, drag this to the toolbar and see if you can now select this..

Sorry if this doesn't help, but it's the only suggestion i have at the mo!!!
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
Yes I have tried it. Doesn't even work. The icon is lit up and everything, but its not tied to anything. When I click on it, it does absolutely nothing.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
377
oops, sorry, didn't see that you had already tried this in your original post - I apologise!

I'm using Office XP, did 97 have detect and repair under the help menu?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2000
Messages
436
In IE under Tools, Internet Options, on the Programs tab, what Mail program do you have selected as your default mailer? Just another idea for ya!

Hope that helps,

Drew
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
Thanks Drew. That base was covered also. I have Lotus Notes as the default mail program.

The thing is with the problem, everything seems to work on my machine, but I have admin rights. You see, the users for this company do not have admin right for anything. I don't believe that this would cause a problem though. Also, I have installed tons of stuff on my machine since I am admin. What I will do is to make a 'corporate' build and test it. I have an old build and there was probably a registry setting or something set on it that they forgot to take off. I'll keep you posted.

Thank you and everyone else. I really appreciate your help

andrew
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
OK, I steppe dout cause I know nothing of Lotus Notes, but maybe reversing this MS article will help to pinpoint where the breakdown is happening.

OL2000: Mailto Link Starts Lotus Notes 4.0

It is how to make sure Outlook opens with Mailto links, instead of Lotus notes, but as I said, use it to make sure all the necessary places are set properly to Lotus Notes.
 
Joined
May 3, 2000
Messages
24
Look at your E-mail settings to see if Notes has something similar to what I describe below.

We use Netscape Messenger and under the preferences/setup there is a check box that says to "Use Netscape Messenger for all MAPI based applications.

When we check this box, the send to menu option appears under the File menu.
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
Randy,
I've tried that entire Microsoft KB article on the specified machine. Though we are using Lotus Notes, I don't see a difference, but yes, I've checked the settings. Its all there believe it or not. I'm still stumped and looking for a fix.

Phil-Key,

Thanks, but I've checked that and there is nothing like that for IE6.

The search continues...

A-

p.s. Thank you again.
 

Andrewswiss

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
7
No, Notes is installed first then Office. I've checked the unattended build and thats the setup for it.

Andy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top