1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

excel - transpose columns to rows

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by BettyAtKitchen, Aug 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    how can the contents in cells A1, A2 and A3 be transposed so that they are on the same row, AND always on the same row as B1; and

    how can the contents in cells A4, A5 and A6 be transposed so that they are on the same row, AND always on the same row as B4.

    a sample worksheet is attached.

    thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    what i meant is, the transposed cells should all be in the same row as the first row in the original data. for example, if A4=222A, B4=Times, LLC then when transposed, A4=222A, B4=222B, etc... (a extra column will be inserted for the transposed cell contents)

    and then

    A7=333A, A8=333B, A9=333C will be transposed to A7=333A, B7=333B and C7=333C
     
  3. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Once you have the data transposed on the same row, do you want the other rows deleted?

    For Example:

    A8 & A9 move to the same row as A7. Do you want to delete rows A8 & A9?
     
  4. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    once the cell contents have been transposed, the contents in the rows can be deleted... but not the rows.

    thanks
     
  5. computerman29642

    computerman29642

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    What do you want to do with the data that is originally in Column B? For Example, Times, LLC.
     
  6. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    the data in column b will be retained.

    thanks
     
  7. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Betty, do you need the blank rows between the items in column B? Could EarlyTimes,L.L.C. go into B2 and so on? Then you could just insert two columns and, using ASAP, go to Columns and Rows, Transpose columns in multiple steps, set the number of rows to 3 and then have everything lined up.
    If you want spaces between rows afterward, use ASAP again, and go to Columns and Rows, Insert between empty rows or columns and set the # of rows to 2.
     
  8. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    the blank rows in column B are not necessary. i guess they can be deleted after the transpose is done.

    however, since the transpose need to be done, in the example, into 3 columns, BUT THAT the row should be the same row as the entry on column B.

    for example, A1-A3 are all part of B1 (JerkyLLC)

    i have used the transpose tool in asap, but (as in the example given) the transpose does not take into consideration that the column A is dependent on column B.

    thanks.
     
  9. BettyAtKitchen

    BettyAtKitchen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    I have attached a sample sheet with more data.

    As you can see, A2:A4 are all related (grouped) to B2 which is why the transposed cells A2-A4 should be in the same row as B2.

    It goes the same way for the others, such as A17:A19, are all related(grouped) to B17.

    If column A is highlighted, then asap transpose tool (with 3 columns), then the resulting rows do not match to the corresponding data in column B, as shown in columns F:K.

    The desired result is shown in columns N:S.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/853723

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice