Excel VLookup and Hyperlinks

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CWDENVER

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
38
I'm trying to use a vlookup to transfer a hyperlink from one worksheet tab to another. When I write the formula, the result is an "#N/A". How can I get the actual hyperlink to transfer based off a vlookup?? Thanks.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can you post an example of the spreadsheet
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
Hi there,

You can't transfer hyperlinks via formulas. You would need to set up the hyperlink on the other sheet and use a formula there, or use VBA. Post the exact details for more help.
 

CWDENVER

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
38
Actually I figured it out. I can set up a table with the file address (e.g. d:\filefolder\file) in one of the columns, then use vlookup for that value. Then I just set up another column using a hyperlink function referencing that cell. I've attached an example.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,458
What I am talking about is you can use them together, the way you are using them now...

Code:
=HYPERLINK(VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0),VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0))
No real need for two separate functions. Now if you have the morefunc.xll add-in, you can shorten it more, and if you want to do some error handling (if the value is not found in the list) you can add some to it as well...

Code:
=IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0)),"",HYPERLINK(VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0),VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0)))
..with the morefunc.xll add-in...

Code:
=IF(ISNA(SETV(VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0))),"",HYPERLINK(GETV(),GETV()))
HTH
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1
What I am talking about is you can use them together, the way you are using them now...

Code:
=HYPERLINK(VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0),VLOOKUP(E2,$B$2:$C$5,2,0))
No real need for two separate functions.
THANK YOU, OH WOW. I registered just so I can say that <3
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top